Hugo Voter Packet Expands

More items have been added to Renovation’s 2011 Hugo Voter Packet which Worldcon members may access between now and July 31.  

Connie Willis’ All Clear, the second volume of her nominated novel, now is part of the packet. It originally had not been offered.

The full press release follows the jump.


2011 Hugo Voter Packet Expands

Renovation, The 69th World Science Fiction Convention,

Reno, Nevada – August 17-21, 2011

Postal queries to: RCFI, PO Box 13278, Portland, OR 97213-0278


Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Reno, Nevada, USA – Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, has expanded the 2011 Hugo Voter Packet, an electronic package of nominated works graciously made available to voters by Hugo nominees and their publishers. The expansion includes a complete set of nominated novels as well as additional works in the Semiprozine and Campbell categories.

The 2011 Hugo Voter Packet is available to Supporting, Attending, and Young Adult members of Renovation to help inform them about the works under consideration before voting. The packet is available until voting closes on Sunday, July 31, 2011 11:59pm PDT.

For more information about the 2011 Hugo Voter Packet, please visit

The following categories are included in the 2011 Hugo Voter Packet:

Best Novel

Blackout/All Clear, by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra) – PDF of parts 1 and 2
Cryoburn, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) – RTF/PDF/EPUB
The Dervish House, by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr) – PDF/EPUB
Feed, by Mira Grant (Orbit) – PDF/EPUB
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit) – PDF/EPUB

Best Novella

“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window”, by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)
The Lifecycle of Software Objects, by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)
“The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon”, by Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)
“The Sultan of the Clouds”, by Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Troika”, by Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)


Best Novelette

“Eight Miles”, by Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)
“The Emperor of Mars”, by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)
“The Jaguar House, in Shadow”, by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)
“Plus or Minus”, by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)
“That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made”, by Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)


Best Short Story

“Amaryllis”, by Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)
“For Want of a Nail”, by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Ponies”, by Kij Johnson (, November 17, 2010)
“The Things”, by Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)


Best Related Work

Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, by Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon) – PDF Excerpt
The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and
Publishing, by Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland) – DOC
Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian) – PDF
Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve, by William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor) – RTF
Excerpt Writing Excuses, Season 4, by Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells – MP3

Best Graphic Story

Fables: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by
Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
Grandville Mon Amour, by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)
Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)
The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

* PDF format

Best Editor, Short Form

John Joseph Adams
Stanley Schmidt
Jonathan Strahan
Gordon Van Gelder
Sheila Williams

* Anthologies and Magazines in RTF/PDF/EPUB/MOBI formats

Best Editor, Long Form

Lou Anders
Ginjer Buchanan
Moshe Feder
Liz Gorinsky
Nick Mamatas
Beth Meacham
Juliet Ulman

* List of works

Best Professional Artist

Daniel Dos Santos
Bob Eggleton
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio
Shaun Tan

* JPG format

Best Semiprozine

Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker – EPUB/MOBI/PDF/MP3
Interzone, edited by Andy Cox – PDF
Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams – RTF/EPUB/MOBI
Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong – PDF
Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal – PDF

Best Fanzine

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer – PDF
Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III – PDF
The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon – PDF
File 770, edited by Mike Glyer – PDF
StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith – MP3

Best Fan Writer

James Bacon
Claire Brialey
Christopher J Garcia
James Nicoll
Steven H Silver

* RTF/PDF formats

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster
Randall Munroe
Maurine Starkey
Steve Stiles
Taral Wayne

* JPG format

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2009 or 2010, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

Saladin Ahmed
Lauren Beukes
Larry Correia
Lev Grossman
Dan Wells


Note: All Campbell finalists are in their 2nd year of eligibility.

All written and graphical works are full-length or one or more complete issues unless otherwise noted.

The Hugo Awards are the premier award in the Science Fiction genre, honoring Science Fiction literature and media as well as the genre’s fans. The Hugo Awards were first presented at the 1953 World Science Fiction Convention in Philadelphia (Philcon II), and they have continued to honor Science Fiction and Fantasy notables annually for nearly 60 years.

More information about the 2011 Hugo Awards, including details about how to submit a final ballot, is available from

For additional information, contact us at [email protected].


Renovation is the 2011 World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”). The first Worldcon occurred in New York City in 1939 and Worldcons have been held annually since then except for 1942-45 when there was no event due to World War II. Renovation’s Guests of Honor are Ellen Asher, Charles N. Brown (in memoriam), Tim Powers and Boris Vallejo.

For more details about the convention or to purchase memberships, visit Send press questions, or requests to be removed from the Renovation press release mailing list, to [email protected]. Send general queries to [email protected].

“World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon”, “NASFiC”, “Hugo Award”, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.