ISFiC Writers Contest Result

ISFiC, corporate parent of Windycon, has announced the outcome of this year’s ISFiC Writers Contest. Although this year’s Windycon was postponed until 2021 due to COVID-19, ISFiC elected to hold the annual contest.

After deliberation, the judges chose not to recognize a winner for the ISFiC Writer’s Contest in 2020. They did cite S. Y. Kaplan as an honorable mention for her story “The Adventures of Nel.” Kaplan will receive a one-ounce silver coin in recognition of her achievement.

This year’s contest was administered by Tracy Townsend, author of The Nine, and judged by Barbara Barnett (Alchemy of Glass), Neal Litherland (New Avalon), and Megan Mackie (Death and the Crone).

The ISFiC Writers Contest was founded in 1986 to run in conjunction with Windycon to support new authors. The first winner, Richard Chwedyk, went on to win the Nebula Award. First prize for the contest is $300, a membership in Windycon, a hotel room for the convention, and publication in the Windycon program book. The contest is open to any resident of Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Kentucky, Ohio, Michigan, or Wisconsin or members of the previous or current Windycon.

Complete rules for the contest and names of past winners can be found here.

[Based on a press release.]