Lafferty Wins 2015 Wellman Award

lafferty-ghost-train to new orleans coverMur Lafferty’s Ghost Train To New Orleans is the winner of the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy.

The award was presented on July 11 by the North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation at ConGregate in Winston-Salem.

In her acceptance remarks Lafferty, who also won the inaugural Wellman Award last year, recused herself from consideration in 2016.

The Wellman Award recognizes outstanding science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors and is voted by members of four North Carolina sf conventions (illogiCon, ConCarolinas, ConTemporal, and ConGregate).

[Via SF Signal.]

7 thoughts on “Lafferty Wins 2015 Wellman Award

  1. Martin Wisse: I know I was. Are they related, I wonder?
    I’ve read Ghost Train, and its prequel, and enjoyed them. Fun light reads.

  2. @ Martin – Uh, dude, I’m sure you don’t mean to come off as dismissive of North Carolina SF writers, but you should know there’s rather a lot of us. (Big tech sector, reasonable low cost of living.) I mean, David Drake, Orson Scott Card, Allen Wold, Jaym Gates, Richard Dansky, Mark van Name, Mur Lafferty, Katherine Addison Allen all live here, and that’s just people I’ve read personally.

    Plus Baen Books is headquartered about forty miles down the road from me, in Wake Forest.

  3. Here’s the full list of nominees:

    The Sea Without a Shore by David Drake (Baen)
    Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by A.J. Hartley and David Hewson (Audible)
    Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty (Orbit)
    Reign of Ash by Gail Z. Martin (Orbit)
    Bad Wizard by James Maxey (Antimatter Press)

    And no, Mur is not directly related to R. A. Lafferty.

Comments are closed.