Norma K Hemming Award
2020 Winners

The winners of the 2020 Norma K Hemming Awards, given under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), were announced on September 6.

The Norma K Hemming Award is given to mark excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a speculative fiction work (e.g. science fiction, fantasy, horror) by Australian citizens and/or residents. Eligible work includes short stories, novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and stage play scripts.

Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words)

  • Winter’s Tale, Nike Sulway & Shauna O’Meara (Twelfth Planet Press)

Long Work


  • From Here On, Monsters, Elizabeth Bryer (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Ghost Bird, Lisa Fuller (University of Queensland Press)

View the online presentation of the Award here.

1 thought on “Norma K Hemming Award
2020 Winners

  1. Mike, I get behind on reading here, but then I find a time slot and binge. And tonight I am left with a burning question. Just how many awards are given out every day that are relevant to our field. Clearly the ones you list are, but how many are there?

    There was a time when publishers decided to put “Winner of the Hugo” on the covers of books. Then “Nominated for the Hugo” Then “Winner of the Nebula.”

    But am beginning to wonder if “Nominated for the Copralith Award” is really going to help sell any books. I think everybody loves to get nominated and even more loves to win. And people love to find ways to praise their favorites. But are we in danger of diluting the significance of awards to the point where it might just be better to buy your favorite writer a cup of coffee?

Comments are closed.