Quantum Shorts 2021 Flash Fiction Competition Winners

Three winning entries in the Quantum Shorts 2021 flash fiction competition were announced April 5. Quantum short stories are no longer than 1000 words, and the contest entries were required to contain the phrase “it’s a lot to think about”.

 The winners are available to read at the links.



Judges Chad Orzel, George Musser, Ingrid Jendrzejewski, José Ignacio Latorre, Lindy Orthia, Mariia Mykhailova and Tania De Rozario selected these two winners from the shortlist of ten quantum-inspired stories. There also was an online public vote for a third prize-winner.


First prize comes with a $1500 cash award. The runner-up wins $1,000, and the author of the People’s Choice gets $500. A one-year Scientific American digital subscription is also awarded to all finalists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.