SF Awards at Finncon 2014

Last weekend at Finncon 2014, Finland’s national sf convention, the following awards were presented for the best science fiction, fantasy and translated works.

The Atorox Award goes to the best Finnish sf short story published in the previous year. The year’s top three stories, ranked in order, were:

  1. Jussi Katajala: “Mare Nostrum” (Huomenna tuulet voimistuvat, [“The Winds Get Stronger Tomorrow”] Osuuskumma)
  2. Shimo Suntila: “Milla ja Meri” (Portti 2/2013)
  3. Miikka Pörsti: “Raportti. Mikä johti operaatio Tähtivaeltajan epäonnistumiseen?” (Tähtivaeltaja 4/2013)

The Tähtifantasia Award is given by the Helsinki Science Fiction Society for the best translated fantasy book published in Finnish during the previous year. The 2014 winner is Kanelipuodit ja muita kertomuksia (Basam Books), a collection of all the short stories by Bruno Schulz. The members of the award jury were Jukka Halme, Aleksi Kuutio, Anne Leinonen and Osmo Määttä.

The Tähtivaeltaja Award recognizes the best translated sf book published in Finnish during the previous year. The award went to Sokeanäkö (Blindsight) by Peter Watts (Gummerus). On the award jury were Hannu Blommila, Toni Jerrman, Elli Leppä, and Antti Oikarinen.

The Nova short story competition is open to writers who haven’t published a book. The top three entries ranked in order (and the prize money won by each) are:

  1. Tuukka Tenhunen: Ugrilainen tapaus (200 €)
  2. Anu Korpinen: Tähden hauta (100 €)
  3. Taru Hautala: Jo joutui armas eilinen (50 €)

The entries were judged by author Magdalena Hai, last year’s winner Anna Malinen, book blogger Hanna Matilainen, sf writer Tarja Sipiläinen, and the editor of the Kosmoskynä zine Juri Timonen.

Finally, the Kosmoskynä award for achievement in advancing Finnish science fiction was given to Pasi Karppanen for his work on behalf of the Finnish Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of Finland.

[Via Tero Ykspetäjä at Europa SF and Partial Recall]