SFPA Picks 2017 Dwarf Stars Winner

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association has announced the 2017 Dwarf Stars winner and other top finishers.

First Place

  • “aster than the speed of lightf” by LeRoy Gorman

Second Place

  • “Lover” by Holly Day

Third Place

  • “Loss” by Sandi Leibowitz

The award recognizes the best speculative poem of 1–10 lines published in the previous year, and is designed to honor excellent scifaiku, tanka, cinquains, and other types of short poems that tend to be overshadowed in SFPA’s Rhysling Award competition.

Also in contrast to the annual Rhysling Anthology, Dwarf Stars is an edited anthology. SFPA encourages poets, poetry readers, and editors are also encouraged to submit or suggest eligible poems to the Dwarf Stars editor. This year’s finalists were selected by editor Robin Mayall and the winner was determined by a vote of the members of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association.

4 thoughts on “SFPA Picks 2017 Dwarf Stars Winner

  1. I was going to jump in with a typo report on “aster than the speed of lightf” but I see it’s actually a clever title!

    (I’m going to appertain something caffeinated anyway though)

Comments are closed.