Best of British SF 2019
Table of Contents

Newcon Press has released the table of contents for Best of British Science Fiction 2019 edited by Donna Scott. The book will be published July 14.

In this volume you will encounter tales in which creatures are cut off from their loved ones; someone is trapped with an abuser; a bird sings; weeds grow where we hope for a garden; we consider what our alternative selves might be doing; we can’t sleep; we wish we could keep things just the way they were; we drink too much… and we look to rockets blasting off into the sky and think that there lies the future; that’s hope.

Best of British Science Fiction 2019 is once again edited by Donna Scott, a recent chair of the BSFA and a distinguished poet, writer, and stand-up comedian. Donna is also a free-lance editor who has worked behind the scenes for a number of major publishers over the course of several years.

  • 2019: An Introduction – Donna Scott
  • The Anxiety Gene – Rhiannon Grist
  • The Land of Grunts and Squeaks – Chris Beckett
  • For Your Own Good – Ian Whates
  • Neom – Lavie Tidhar
  • Once You Start – Mike Morgan
  • For the Wicked, Only Weeds Will Grow – G. V. Anderson
  • Fat Man in the Bardo – Ken MacLeod
  • Cyberstar – Val Nolan
  • The Little People – Una McCormack
  • The Loimaa Protocol – Robert Bagnall
  • The Adaptation Point – Kate Macdonald
  • The Final Ascent – Ian Creasey
  • A Lady of Ganymede, a Sparrow of Io – Dafydd McKimm
  • Snapshots – Leo X. Robertson
  • Witch of the Weave – Henry Szabranski
  • Parasite Art – David Tallerman
  • Galena – Liam Hogan
  • Ab Initio – Susan Boulton
  • Ghosts – Emma Levin
  • Concerning the Deprivation of Sleep – Tim Major
  • Every Little Star – Fiona Moore
  • The Minus-Four Sequence – Andrew Wallace

[Via Lavie Tidhar.]

Best of British SF 2018 Table of Contents

Newcon Press has announced the contents for Best of British Science Fiction 2018 edited by Donna Scott. The book, with cover art by Les Edwards, will be released August 21 and is available for preorder.

Full contents:

  • Introduction by Donna Scott
  • Providence – Alastair Reynolds
  • Talking to Ghosts at the Edge of the World – Lavie Tidhar
  • The Miracle Lambs of Minane – Finbarr O’Reilly
  • Territory Blank – Aliya Whiteley
  • Throw Caution – Tim Major
  • Golgotha – Dave Hutchinson
  • Salvation – Dave Bradley
  • Waterbirds – G.V. Anderson
  • Buddy System – Mike Morgan
  • Do No Harm – Anna Ibbotson
  • A Change of Heart – Hannah Tougher
  • Birnam Platoon – Natalia Theodoridou
  • Good – Sunyi Dean
  • Hard Times in Nuovo Genova – Chris Barnham
  • The Escape Hatch – Matthew de Abaitua
  • P.Q. – James Warner
  • The Purpose of the Dodo is to be Extinct – Malcolm Devlin
  • Cat and Mouse – David Tallerman
  • Before They Left – Colin Greenland
  • Harry’s Shiver – Esme Carpenter
  • The Whisperer – J.K. Fulton
  • Death of the Grapevine – Teika Marija Smits
  • Rainsticks – Matt Thompson
  • The Veilonaut’s Dream – Henry Szabranski
  • Doomed Youth – Fiona Moore
  • F Sharp 4 – Tim Pieraccini

The book will be published as a paperback, a limited edition hardback, and an eBook.

[Thanks to JJ for the story.]