2015 Theodore Sturgeon Award Shortlist

Sturgeon-trophy-sThe Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction has announced the finalists for the 2015 Theodore Sturgeon A. Memorial Award for the best short science fiction story.

The Sturgeon is a juried award. The finalists were selected by Elizabeth Bear, Andy Duncan, James Gunn, Kij Johnson, and Nöel Sturgeon, Trustee of the Theodore Sturgeon Literary Estate.

The award is given during the Campbell Conference which, this year, will be part of MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, in Kansas City. The awards ceremony will be held the evening of Thursday, August 18.

2015 finalists for the Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award are:

The World Science Fiction Convention often offers academic programming, and this year’s WorldCon officials asked Christopher McKitterick, CSSF director, to organize an academic track that will include papers and discussions.

“Rather than host a separate Campbell Conference with WorldCon just a month later in neighboring Kansas City, thus forcing out-of-town guests to choose one or the other,” McKitterick said, “we decided to combine the two.”

MidAmeriCon II will be Aug. 17-21 at the Kansas City Convention Center.

[Thanks to JJ for the story. Based on a press release.]

MAC II Call For Papers

“Tomorrow is Now” will be the theme of the 2016 Worldcon’s academic programming track.

The theme… based on the 1939 World’s Fair, both explores what tomorrow might be like as well as celebrates how far we have come.

See the linked MidAmeriCon II webpage for submission guidelines and scholarship availability.

The track will be hosted by the Campbell Conference (normally held each June at KU’s Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction).

Sessions may consist of short individual presentations (three 15-minute or two 20-minute presentations grouped together by topic), panel presentations of 3 or more presenters, round-table discussions led by facilitators, poster and multimedia presentations, workshops led by facilitators, idea sessions, and special interest groups. Keynote presentations will be organized by the Campbell Conference Committee.

Papers or presentations on MidAmeriCon II’s theme or its Guests of Honor, as well as other science-fiction proposal topics are welcome.

Deadline for submissions is January 14.

The Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction is offering two need-based scholarships – which is to say, two free memberships in MidAmeriCon II — for academic-track participants whose proposals have been accepted and who otherwise might not be able to attend.

The Center will also give at least two free memberships to volunteer staff helping run the academic track.

[Thanks to Steven H Silver for the story.]