SFPA Announces Dwarf Stars, Elgin Winners

ds13The Science Fiction Poetry Association will present the Rhysling, Dwarf Stars, and Elgin Awards at LoneStarCon 3 in a ceremony on Friday, August 30.

Although given at Readercon in recent years, in 2013 these awards are being presented at the Worldcon.

The winners of the Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards have been announced in advance of the ceremony.

Dwarf Stars

Winner: Basho After Cinderella (iii) • Deborah P Kolodji • Rattle 38

2nd Place: The Hidden • Mary Turzillo • Lovers & Killers (Dark Regions 2012)

3rd Place: Sarcophagus • N. E. Taylor • inkscrawl 3

The Dwarf Stars award recognizes the best speculative poem of 1–10 lines published in the previous year. The award was created to recognize excellent scifaiku, tanka, cinquains, and other short poems, that tended to be overshadowed in Rhysling Award competition. The 2013 Dwarf Stars Anthology edited by Stephen M. Wilson and Linda D. Addison is available from SFPA.

Elgin Awards

Named for SFPA founder Suzette Haden Elgin, the awards are presented in two categories, Chapbook and Book. To be considered, chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry and books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry.


Winner: Lovers & Killers • Mary Turzillo (Dark Regions Press)

2nd Place: Notes From the Shadow City • Bruce Boston & Gary William Crawford (Dark Regions Press)

3rd Place: Come Late to the Love of Birds • Sandra Kasturi (Tightrope Books)


Winner: Out of the Black Forest • F. J. Bergmann (Centennial Press)

2nd Place: The House of Forever: Selected Poems • Samantha Henderson (Raven Electrick Ink)

3rd Place: The Edible Zoo • David Kopaska-Merkel (Sam’s Dot Publishing)

[Via SF Site News.]