Sturgeon Award Nominations Open Thru March 15

The J Wayne and Elsie M Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction has begun soliciting nominations for the 2022 Sturgeon Award. Jason Baltazar, the Award Administrator, says: “We only accept nominations from the editors and reviewers that we solicit from directly. That said, we’re always happy to expand our list of editors and reviewers, so if any folks in those categories would like to be included they can contact us at this email — [email protected].” Nominations are being accepted from invitees through March 15.

Baltazar adds, “Our timeline has officially shifted so that the award will be presented in the fall, and beginning this year the winner will also receive modest cash prize.”

Nominations are collated into a list of finalists to be voted on by the jury. The current Sturgeon Award jury is Elizabeth Bear, Kij Johnson, Sarah Pinsker, Noel Sturgeon, and Taryne Taylor.