2016 Rosny-Aîné Award Winners


The winners of 2016 Rosny-Aîné (The Elder) Awards were announced at the announced at the 43rd French National Science Fiction Convention held August 26-28 in Gradignan (France). The award is given in two categories, novels and short stories.

2016 Best Novel

  • Lum’en”  – Laurent Genefort (Belial ‘Press)

2016 Best Short Story

  • Ethfrag” – Laurent Genefort (Bifrost Magazine n ° 78)

Here are the shortlists.

Best Novel Finalists

  • “Lum’en” – Laurent Genefort
  • “La Fenêtre de Diane” (Diane’s Window) – Dominique Douay
  • “Semences” (Seeds) – Jean-Marc Ligny
  • “Résonances” (Resonances) – Pierre Bordage
  • “Origines” (Origins) – Laurence Suhner
  • “Le Château des Millions d’Années” (The Castle of Millions of Years) – Stéphane Przybylski
  • “Les Nefs de Pangée” (The Naves of Pangaea) –  Christian Chavassieux

Best Short Story Finalists

  • “Ethfrag” – Laurent Genefort
  • “Avec Herman Melville dans la vallée des Taïpi” (With Herman Melville in the Typee Valley) – Dominique Douay
  • “Le Karma du Chat” (Cat’s Karma) –  Sylvie Lainé
  • “La Clé de Manderley” (The Manderley Key) – Mélanie Fazi
  • “Chute libre” (Free Fall) – Sylvie Denis
  • “Le Vert est éternel” (The Green is Eternal) – Jean-Laurent Del Socorro
  • “Nature Humaine” (Human Nature) – Magali Couzigo
  • “Tous les enfants de la mère” (All the Children of the Mother) – Anthony Boulanger

[Via Europa SF.]

2014 Rosny-Aîné Award Nominees

The Prix Rosny-Aîné is a literary prize for French science fiction. It has been awarded annually since 1980 in two categories: best novel and best short fiction.

J.-H. Rosny-Aîné (1856-1940) was a French author of Belgian origin, one of the founding figures of modern science fiction.

The nominees for the 2014 Rosny-Aîné Award are:


  • „Rainbow Warriors” by Ayerdhal (Au Diable Vauvert)
  • “Juste à temps” (Just In Time) by Philippe Curval (La Volte)
  • „Françatome” (Franceatom) by Johan Heliot (Mnémos)
  • „American Gothic” by Xavier Mauméjean (Alma)
  • „Agharta, le temps des Selkies” (Agharta, the Time of Selkies) by Arnauld Pontier (Asgard)
  • „Anamnèse de Lady Star” (Lady Star’s Anamnesis) by L.L. Kloetzer (Denoël)

Short Stories

  • „Le chant des baleines” (The Song of the Whales) by Stéphane Croenne (Angle mort n°9)
  • „Cuisine kitzyn” (Kitzyn Kitchen) by Philippe Curval (Galaxies, the new series No. 24/66)
  • „L’Enfant qui s’avance vers nous” (The Child Coming Toward Us) by Gulzar Joby, (Galaxies, the new series No. 25/67)
  • „Le réveil des hommes blancs” (White Men’s Wakeup) by Christian Léourier, (Bifrost # 72)
  • „Durée d’oscillation variable” (Duration of the Variable Oscillation) by Martin Lessard (Long Shu Publishing)

The winners will be annonced at Nemo 2014, the French National Science Fiction Convention, in Amiens, July 17-20.