Wonderland Book Awards 2022 Finalists

The Wonderland Book Awards 2022 finalists were announced October 3, celebrating the best bizarro fiction titles released in 2021. 


  • Jurassichrist by Michael Allen Rose (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)
  • Girl In The Walls by Katy Michelle Quinn (Clash Books)
  • Full Metal Octopus by Carlton Mellick III (Eraserhead Press)
  • Suburban Gothic by Brian Keene and Bryan Smith (Deadite Press)
  • Man, Fuck This House by Brian Asman (Mutated Media)


  • Don’t Push The Button by John Skipp (Clash Books)
  • The Secret Diary Of A Soundcloud Rapper by Young Stepdad (11:11 Press)
  • The Next Time You See Me I’ll Probably Be Dead by C.V. Hunt (Grindhouse Press)
  • Bodies Wrapped In Plastic And Other Items Of Interest by Andersen Prunty (Grindhouse Press)
  • Widow Of The Amputation And Other Weird Crimes by Robert Guffey (Eraserhead Press)

Honorable mention was given to titles that came close to placing on the final ballot: The Run Fantastic by Luke Kondor (Bizarro Pulp Press), Snap! Crackle! Fuck You! by Simon Ore Molina (Eraserhead Press), Giant Robots Of Babel by Max Bauman (Aggadah Try It), Transmuted (Rewind Or Die) by Eve Harms (Unnerving), Things Were Easier Before You Became A Giant Fucking Mantis by Matthew A. Clarke (Independently Published), Chicken Lust by Justin Hunter (Hybrid Sequence Media), And Pieces Of Bones And Rags by Michael C Keith (Thick & Vaney Books).

The winners will be voted on by “anyone who has attended BizarroCon”. The awards will be presented at BizarroCon in Troutdale, OR on November 18, 2022.

Illo by Joe Pearson.

Wonderland Book Awards 2021

The winners of the Wonderland Book Awards 2021 were announced November 21, celebrating the best bizarro fiction titles released in 2020. Although the pandemic preempted Bizarro Con, where the awards are traditionally hosted, an unofficial event was held outside Portland, OR to present the awards.


Winner: The Loop by Jeremy Robert Johnson (Saga Press)        

Other finalists;

  • We Need To Do Something by Max Booth III (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)
  • Negative Space by B. R. Yeager (Apocalypse Party)
  • The Bad Box by Carlton Mellick III (Eraserhead Press)
  • All Men Are Trash by Gina Ranalli (Madness Heart Press) 


Winner: Don’t F[Bleep]K With The Coloureds by Andre Duza (Deadite Press)

Other finalists:

  • Gridlocked by Cody Goodfellow (Kingshot Press)
  • Cradleland Of Parasites by Sara Tantlinger (Strangehouse Books)
  • The Parasite From Proto Space & Other Stories by Brett Petersen (Clash Books)
  • The Comfort Zone And Other Safe Spaces by Tom Over (NihilismRevised)


  • Sabbath Of The Fox-Devils by Sam Richard (WeirdPunk)
  • The Wingspan Of Severed Hands by Joanna Koch (WeirdPunk)
  • The Mud Ballad by Jo Quenell (WeirdPunk)
  • Seventeen Names For Skin by Roland Blackburn (WeirdPunk)
  • The Ultimate Dinosaur Dance-Off by Andrew J. Stone (Bizarro Pulp Press)
  • Killer Unconquered by Chris Lambert (Kingshot Press)
  • Tales Of Unspeakable Taste by John Bruni (Bizarro Pulp Press).

The Wonderland Book Awards 2020

The winners of the 2020 Wonderland Book Awards for “excellence in bizarro fiction” were announced December 23.

The results were decided by a vote of people who have attended Bizarrocon.


  • Unamerica by Cody Goodfellow

Other finalists

  • Impossible James by Danger Slater
  • Girl Like A Bomb by Autumn Christian
  • Mouse Trap by Carlton Mellick III
  • The Drive-Thru Crematorium by Jon Bassoff


  • To Wallow In Ash And Other Sorrows by Sam Richard

Other finalists

  • The Worst That Could Happen by S.G. Murphy
  • In Dreams We Rot by Betty Rocksteady
  • Whispers In The Ear Of A Dreaming Ape by Joshua Chaplinsky
  • Cyberpunk Zombie Jihad by Mark Zirbel