Anticipation’s Cavalcade of Awards

Weary of reading about the Hugos? Next week’s Worldcon in Montreal will present nine other sets of awards. They includethe Chesley Award, Prometheus Award, Sidewise Awards, and the Prix Boréal.

The full press release appears after the jump.

Anticipation: Press Release #29, July 30, 2009
Award ceremonies at Anticipation.

Ten awards will be presented at Anticipation. The best known are the Hugos, which recognize achievement in science fiction books, art, short stories, movies, and which include a new category for Best Graphic Story this year. The Auroras, for which there will be a presentation banquet, are awarded for Canadian science fiction writing and fan activity in both English and French. The Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists presents the Chesley Award. The Prometheus Award, for libertarian science fiction novels is given out annually by the the Libertarian Futurist society, and the Sidewise Awards are presented to writers of outstanding short-form and long-form alternative history. The Golden Duck Awards recognize Children’s and YA Science Fiction, the First Fandom Awards are awarded for fan activity, and the Prix Boréal recognizes outstanding work in science fiction and fantasy by Canadians writing in French.

The winners of the Prix Jacques-Brossard (formerly the Grand Prix de la Science-Fiction et du Fantastique Québécois) and of the Seiun Award (Japan) will be announced at the outset of the International Awards Spotlight, where other national awards for work in science fiction and fantasy will be profiled and this year’s previously announced winners will be recognized. These include:

Aurealis (Australia)
Chandler (Australia)
Ditmar (Australia)
Nora K. Hemming Award (Australia)
Peter McNamara Achievement Award (Australia)
Tin Duck Awards (Australia)
William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism (Australia)
Constellations (Canada)
Geffen (Israel)
Janusz A. Zajdel (Poland)
Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire (France)
Prix Imaginales (France)
Galaxy Awards (China)
Sir Julius Vogel Awards (New Zealand)
Atorox (Finland)

The 67th World Science Fiction Convention, known as Anticipation, will take place in Montréal, Québec, Canada from Thursday, August 6th through Monday, August 10th, 2009.

More information about Anticipation, including current membership rates, is available on our web site (; you can also write to us for more information. To be removed from the Anticipation press release mailing list, please
write to [email protected]

Anticipation The 67th World Science Fiction Convention P.O. Box 105,
Station NDG Montréal, QC H4A 3P4

email: [email protected]

“WSFS”, “Worldcon”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Hugo Award” and “NASFiC” and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

View online

Download as a Word document

Download as PDF

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.