2018 Tomorrow Prize Finalists

At LitFest Pasadena on May 20, 2018 at 5:30 p.m., celebrity guests will read the five Tomorrow Prize finalists’ stories, after which the first, second, and third place winners will be announced.

The Tomorrow Prize for short science fiction was created by Sci-Fest LA in 2014 “to identify and encourage the next generation of science fiction writing talent.”


  • Relinquished Cities by Sarah Krausz (Grover Cleveland High School)
  • The Demiurge by Bry LeBerthon (Westridge School)
  • Addiction by Kalila Papanikolas (Westridge School)
  • Microcosm by Chelsea See (Glen A. Wilson High School)
  • Midas by Audrey Wang (Westridge School)


  • Espera by Naomi Beach (Clark Magnet High School)
  • 2084 by Kate Crowell (Westridge School)
  • The Vault by Matthew David (Fairfax High School)
  • Desperate Measures by Jake DeRiseis (Culver City High School)
  • Trash-O-Synthesis by Charlotte Feit-Leichman & Nia Yick (Culver City High School)
  • Curing of an Illness by Carlos Gonzalez (High Tech LA)
  • The Silo by Alexander Hwang (High Tech LA)
  • Edos by Julia Li (Polytechnic High School)
  • War of the Clouds by Haley Pak (Westridge School)
  • Gray by Subin Yi (Fairfax High School)

At the same event, the inaugural Green Feather Award will be presented by Los Angeles Audubon. The award “recognizes an outstanding science fiction short story by a teen author that centers on overcoming today’s environmental challenges. The winning story will highlight the importance of ecology and biodiversity.” The winner also will be read aloud on stage by a celebrity guest.


  • Let Her Play by Aisling Murran (Polytechnic High School)

1 thought on “2018 Tomorrow Prize Finalists

  1. How exciting for the kids!

    Good to see the next generation being encouraged.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.