2021 D.I.C.E. Awards

The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) has announced the winners of the 24th Annual D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Awards.

Hades, named Game of the Year, led the field with five awards, Ghost of Tsushima had four wins, and The Last of Us Part II and Half-Life: Alyx each had two. 

The Academy membership voted awards in 23 categories.

Outstanding Achievement in Animation

  • The Last of Us Part 2

Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction

  • Ghost of Tsushima

Outstanding Achievement in Character

  • Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales – Miles Morales

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Composition

  • Ghost of Tsushima

Outstanding Achievement in Audio Design

  • Ghost of Tsushima

Outstanding Achievement in Story

  • The Last of Us Part 2

Outstanding Technical Achievement

  • Dreams

Action Game of the Year

  • Hades

Adventure Game of the Year

  • Ghost of Tsushima

Family Game of the Year

  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons

Fighting Game of the Year

  • Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate

Racing Game of the Year

  • Mario Kart Live

Role-Playing Game of the Year

  • Final Fantasy 7 Remake

Sports Game of the Year

  • Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2

Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year

  • Microsoft Flight Simulator

Immersive Reality Technical Achievement

  • Half-Life: Alyx

Outstanding Achievement for an Independent Game

  • Hades

Mobile Game of the Year

  • Legends of Runeterra

Online Game of the Year

  • Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout

Outstanding Achievement in Game Design

  • Hades

Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction

  • Hades

Game of the Year

  • Hades

Four of today’s winners also are among the six finalists in the experimental 2021 Best Video Game Hugo category: Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Final Fantasy VII Remake, Hades, and The Last of Us: Part II. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.