2017 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the finalists for the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Andrea Hairston, Will Do Magic For Small Change (Aqueduct Press, 2016)
  • Mary Robinette Kowal, Ghost Talkers (Tor, 2016)
  • Patricia A. McKillip, Kingfisher (Ace, 2016)
  • Maggie Stiefvater, The Raven Cycle: The Raven Boys (Scholastic, 2012); The Dream Thieves (Scholastic, 2013); Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Scholastic, 2014); and The Raven King (Scholastic, 2016)
  • Jo Walton, Thessaly Trilogy: The Just City (Tor, 2015); The Philosopher Kings (Tor, 2015); Necessity (Tor, 2016)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Adam Gidwitz, The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and their Holy Dog (Dutton, 2016)
  • S. E. Grove, The Mapmakers Trilogy: The Class Sentence (Viking 2014); The Golden Specific (Viking, 2015); The Crimson Skew (Viking, 2015)
  • Bridget Hodder, The Rat Prince (Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 2016)
  • Grace Lin, When the Sea Turned to Silver (Little, Brown, 2016)
  • Delia Sherman, The Evil Wizard Smallbone (Candlewick, 2016)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Lisa Coutras, Tolkien’s Theology of Beauty: Majesty, Splendor, and Transcendence in Middle Earth (Palgrave-Macmillan, 2016)
  • Sørina Higgins, ed. The Chapel of the Thorn by Charles Williams (Apocryphile Press, 2015)
  • Leslie Donovan, ed. Approaches to Teaching Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings and Other Works (Modern Language Association, 2015)
  • Christopher Tolkien, ed. Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary, together with Sellic Spell by J.R.R. Tolkien (Houghton Mifflin, 2014)
  • Philip Zaleski and Carol Zaleski, The Fellowship: The Literary Lives of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Owen Barfield, Charles Williams (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Aisling Byrne, Otherworlds: Fantasy and History in Medieval Literature (Oxford University Press, 2015)
  • Richard Firth Green, Elf Queens and Holy Friars: Fairy Beliefs and the Medieval Church (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2016)
  • Michael Levy and Farah Mendlesohn, Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press, 2016)
  • Gabrielle Lissauer, The Tropes of Fantasy Fiction (McFarland, 2015)
  • Jack Zipes, Grimm Legacies: The Magic Spell of the Grimms’ Folk and Fairy Tales (Princeton University Press, 2014)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen, in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners will be announced during Mythcon 48, to be held from July 28-31, 2017.

6 thoughts on “2017 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

  1. I’m really happy to see “Ghost Talkers” here. It didn’t get nearly as much attention as it should have. I guess a one-and-done book doesn’t get the buzz that trilogies and series do. But it had a core idea I hadn’t seen before, logically worked out, a swell mystery, plus ALL THE FEELS. So many feels.

  2. I agree with you on that, lurkertype. What I said about Ghost Talkers:

    I started MRK’s Shades of Milk and Honey back when it came out, and I couldn’t finish it; it really was not my thing. I wasn’t terribly optimistic about how I’d feel about this one, given the jacket copy. And it took me about 50 pages to get past the whole psychic mediums thing 🙄 and just roll with it. I’m really glad that I did; right now it’s on my Hugo nomination longlist. It will probably not make my shortlist – but at the dismal rate that things are going with 2016 novels for me so far, you never know. The cover art (by Chris McGrath) is gorgeous, too.

    It didn’t make my nomination ballot, but I think it was in my top 10. And I loved that she didn’t tack a Hollywood ending on it; that’s what really made it a good book to me.

  3. I’m kind of surprised that Ghost Talkers didn’t get more attention, considering MRK’s otherwise high profile, and am glad to see it on the shortlist here. WWI is a less popular setting than Regency, so that might have put some people of. Though with the Wonder Woman movie such a success, WWI settings may become more popular.

  4. And the audiobook is narrated by MRK which makes a very good tale even better. I’m convinced that everything that comes out of her talents, be they puppets, fiction or narrating texts is always spot on.

    JJ: Shades of Milk and Honey I bounced half hard. Not dire why but I’m getting an aversion to quasi Regency fantasy in the same way London based Victorian steampunk does for me now when I see it. That I didn’t like Shades of Milk and Honey isn’t a failure on her part, but mine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *