2008 Hugo Winners

Best Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)

Best Novella: “All Seated on the Ground” by Connie Willis (Asimov’s Dec. 2007; Subterranean Press)

Best Novelette: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” by Ted Chiang (Subterranean Press; F&SF Sept. 2007)

Best Short Story: “Tideline” by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s June 2007)

Best Non-fiction Book: Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Stardust Written by Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn, Based on the novel by Neil Gaiman Illustrated by Charles Vess Directed by Matthew Vaughn (Paramount Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form Doctor Who “Blink” Written by Steven Moffat Directed by Hettie Macdonald (BBC)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form: David Hartwell

Best Professional Editor, Short Form: Gordon Van Gelder (F&SF)

Best Professional Artist: Stephan Martiniere

Best Semiprozine: Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi

Best Fanzine: File 770, ed. Mike Glyer

Best Fan Writer: John Scalzi

Best Fan Artist: Brad Foster

Campbell Award: Mary Robinette Kowal

Mary Robinette Kowal’s winning the Campbell Award was a real audience pleaser, one of the most loudly cheered events of the night. Adding interest, she not only received the award plaque, she received the “Campbell Award Tiara,” an elegant piece of jewelry that went well with her yellow gown.

A more esoteric audience pleaser,  that fans approved once it was pointed out to them, was the selection as the sample clip from Heroes of the scene where LASFS member Tadao Tomomatsu in his role as a detective questions one of the series’ regular characters. Outstanding!

Update 8/10/2008: Made change reflecting David Levine’s correction.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “2008 Hugo Winners

Comments are closed.