2008 Sidewise Award Nominees

The nominees for the Sidewise Awards for alternate history fiction published in 2008 are:

Short Form

  • “A Brief Guide to Other Histories,” by Paul J. McAuley (Postscripts #15)
  • “G-Men,” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)
  • “Night Bird Soaring,” by T.L. Morganfield (Greatest Uncommon Denominator, Autumn/08)
  • “The People’s Machine,” by Tobias Buckell (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)
  • “Poison Victory,” by Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF, 07/08)
  • “Sacrifice,” by Mary Rosenblum (Sideways in Crime, edited by Lou Anders, Solaris)

Long Form

  • The Affinity Bridge, by George Mann (Snowbooks/Tor, 2009)
  • The Dragon’s Nine Sons, by Chris Roberson (Solaris)
  • Half a Crown, by Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins/Doubleday UK)
  • Swiftly, by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

The 2008 Sidewise Awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were established in 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate history fiction.

The winners are selected from a panel of judges that currently includes Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stuart Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

For more information about the Sidewise Award, visit http://www.uchronia.net/sidewise, or contact Steven H Silver, the Award Administrator, at [email protected].

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.