2010 Compton Crook Award Nominees

The nominees for the 2010 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award presented by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society are:

  • The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Dying Bites by D.D. Barant
  • Soulless by Gail Carriger
  • Johannes Cabal, the Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard

 The winner will get his/her way paid to Balticon for two years, receive a plaque and $1000. Balticon takes place May 28-31, 2010.

The Compton Crook Award is presented for the best of the first novels published each year in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror. Selection is by vote of the BSFS membership. The Award is named for science fiction author Compton Crook, who used the nom de plume Stephen Tall. Compton Crook died in 1981. The award was first given in 1983. For more information check the BSFS website.

[Thanks to Michael Walsh for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.