2013 SF Translation Award Shortlist

Finalists for the 2013 Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Awards were announced at Finncon in Helsinki over the July 6-7 weekend.

Long Form

  • Atlas: The Archaeology of an Imaginary City by Kai-cheung Dung, translated from the Chinese by Anders Hansson, Bonnie S. McDougall, and the author (Columbia University Press).
  • Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? by Hideo Furukawa, translated from the Japanese by Michael Emmerich (Haikasoru).
  • Kaytek the Wizard by Janusz Korczak, translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Penlight).
  • Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, translated from the Russian by Olena Bormashenko (Chicago Review Press).
  • Seven Terrors by Selvedin Avdi , translated from the Bosnian by Coral Petkovich (Istro Books).
  • Three Science Fiction Novellas by J.-H. Rosny aîné, translated from the French by Danièle Chatelain & George Slusser (Wesleyan University Press).
  • The Whispering Muse by Sjón, translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb (Telegram).

Short Form

  • “Augusta Prime” by Karin Tidbeck translated from the Swedish by the author (Jagannath: Stories, Cheeky Frawg).
  • “Autogenic Dreaming: Interview with the Columns of Cloud”by Tobi Hirokata, translated from the Japanese by Jim Hubbert (The Future Is Japanese, Nick Mamatas and Masumi Washington (eds.), Haikasoru).
  • “Every Time We Say Goodbye” by Zoran Vlahovi , translated from the Croatian by Tatjana Jambri?ak, Goran Konvi ni, and the author (Kontakt: An Anthology of Croatian SF, Darko Macan and Tatjana Jambri?ak (eds.), SFera).
  • “The Flower of Shazui” by Chen Qiufan, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Interzone #243).
  • “A Hundred Ghosts Parade Tonight” by Xia Jia, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Clarkesworld #65).
  • “A Single Year” by Csilla Kleinheincz, translated from the Hungarian by the author (The Apex Book of World SF #2, Lavie Tidhar (ed.), Apex Book Company).

The winners will be announced in August, with the author and translator of each winning work receiving a cash prize of US$350. The prize was funded by a donation from SF3, which hosts Wiscon.

The members of this year’s awards jury are James & Kathryn Morrow (Chairs); Felice Beneduce, Alexis Brooks de Vita, Stefan Ekman, Martha Hubbard, Ekaterina Sedia, Kari Sperring, and Aishwarya Subramanian.