2014 Bram Stoker Award Winners

Bram Stoker Award trophy

Bram Stoker Award trophy

The recipients of the Bram Stoker Awards® were announced during the World Horror Convention in Atlanta, Georgia on May 9.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Steve Rasnic Tem – Blood Kin (Solaris Books)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Maria Alexander – Mr. Wicker (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • John Dixon – Phoenix Island (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Jonathan Maberry – Bad Blood (Dark Horse Books)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Joe R. Lansdale – “Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction (tie)

  • Usman T. Malik – “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)
  • Rena Mason – “Ruminations” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • Jennifer Kent – The Babadook (Causeway Films)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Ellen Datlow – Fearful Symmetries (ChiZine Publications)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Lucy Snyder – Soft Apocalypses (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Lucy Snyder – Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide (Post Mortem Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Tom Piccirilli – Forgiving Judas (Crossroad Press)

Also presented:

Grandmaster: WIlliam F. Nolan

Lifetime Achievement Award: Jack Ketchum

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tanith Lee

Mentor of the Year: Kathy Ptacek. Honors writers who, thru HWA’s Mentoring Program, provide excellent support to their mentees.

Silver Hammer Award: Rena Mason was given HWA’s 2014 Silver Hammer Award, as volunteer who has worked diligently for the organization, often unsung and behind the scenes. Mason currently serves as Co-Chair of the Bram Stoker Awards®. She has also worked as a compiler for the awards process, and arranged and supervised HWA events, such as a recent panel at the Vegas Valley Book Festival.

HWA 2014 Specialty Press Award: ChiZine Publications. The award recognizes a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction.

Richard Laymon Award: Doug Murano, Tom Calen and Brock Cooper. The Richard Laymon President’s Award for Service was given to the organization’s publicity team. The Award is presented to a volunteer who has served HWA in an especially exemplary manner and has shown extraordinary dedication to the organization. The recipients were selected by HWA President Lisa Morton.

HWA President Lisa Morton announced the first-ever Stoker Con will be in Las Vegas in 2016 and George RR Martin to be first guest of honor. Stoker Con 2017 will be in Long Beach, CA.

2 thoughts on “2014 Bram Stoker Award Winners

  1. How the hell have I missed Fishing for Dinosaurs? I thought I’d read all of Lansdale but he’s so prolific it’s hard to keep up. He should win all of the awards. All of them.

Comments are closed.