2014 Hans Christian Andersen Award Winners

hans christian andersen awardThe International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) has named author Nahoko Uehashi (Japan) and illustrator Roger Mello (Brazil) winners of the 2014 Hans Christian Andersen Award.

Uehashi is best known in the English-speaking world as the author of Seirei no Moribito, and through its anime adaptation Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit which aired several ago.

The Andersen medals and diplomas will be presented to the winners at the 34th International IBBY Congress in Mexico City, Wednesday, 10 September 2014. 

Also announced were winners of the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award: The Children’s Book Bank (Toronto) and PRAESA (South Africa).