2014 Sunburst Nominees

The finalists for the 2014 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced. The award recognizes Canadian writers of adult or young adult speculative fiction novel or book-length collection published during the previous calendar year.

Adult Shortlist

  • Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central Publishing)
  • River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Group Canada)
  • This Strange Way of Dying by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Exile Editions)
  • A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (Penguin Group Canada)
  • The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper (Simon & Schuster)

Young Adult Shortlist

  • Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow (Scholastic Inc.)
  • The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint, illustrated by Charles Vess (Little Brown Books)
  • Homeland by Cory Doctorow (Tom Doherty Associates)
  • The Path of Names by Ari Goelman (Scholastic Inc.)
  • Urgle by Meaghan McIsaac (Cormorant Books)

Honourable Mention

  • The n-Body Problem by Tony Burgess (Chizine Publications)
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Oathbreaker’s Shadow by Amy McCulloch (Doubleday Canada)
  • Wild Fell by Michael Rowe (Chizine Publications)
  • Beyond the Rift by Peter Watts (Tachyon Publications)
Sunburst medallion.

Sunburst medallion.

The Sunburst is a juried award. The 2014 jurors are Camille Alexa, Paul Glennon, Bob Knowlton, Nicole Luiken, and Derek Newman-Stille.

Winners receive a C$1,000 cash award and a medallion. The Sunburst is named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb, among the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.