2016 Darrell Awards Finalists

The Darrell Awards jury has announced its picks for the shortlist of Best Published Midsouth Science Fiction, Fantasy, and/or Horror of 2015. Created in 1996, the awards are named after Dr. Darrell C. Richardson, founding member of Memphis Science Fiction Association (MSFA).

Darrell Awards


  • When Dragons Sleep by Steven Glen Baird
  • Lincoln’s Bodyguard by T. J. Turner
  • The Darker Carnival by Frank Tuttle

Young Adult Works

  • The Old Blood by Tim Bohn
  • All The Turns of Light by Frank Tuttle

Short Stories

  • “Zedhead” by Victor Lorthos
  • “The Ones Who Remember” by Robert J. Krog
  • “Memphis BBQ” by Cat Rambo
  • “Sentry” by Herika R. Raymer

In a fourth category, the jury has named an outright winner:

Best Midsouth SF/F/H Novella

  • Brielle and the Alien Geek by Jessica Coulter Smith.

And the jury has chosen the recipient of an annual memorial award.

Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award

Aaron Christopher Drown

Aaron Christopher Drown

  • Aaron Christopher Drown

For his outstanding body of work, including many excellent short stories.

The 2016 Darrell Awards will be presented at MidSouthCon 34 on March 19.

2 thoughts on “2016 Darrell Awards Finalists

  1. Pingback: File 770's News From Fandom - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.