2016 Russ Manning Award Shortlist

The nominees for the 2016 Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award have been announced by Comic-Con International.

  • Daniel Bayliss, artist of Kennel Block Blues and Translucid (BOOM! Studios)
  • Leila del Duca, artist of Shutter (Image)
  • Dan Mora, artist of Klaus and Hexed! (BOOM! Studios)
  • Marguerite Sauvage, artist of DC Comics Bombshells (DC), Scarlet Witch (Marvel), and Faith (Valiant)
  • Tillie Walden, writer/artist of I Love This Part and The End of Summer (Avery Hill)

manning_art_0The Manning Award goes to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. The award was created in 1982 and named for the artist known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Manning also was a popular guest at early San Diego Comic-Cons.

The winner will be chosen by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants and made public at the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 22 at Comic-Con International.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.