2016 Sunburst Longlist

Sunburst medallion.

Sunburst medallion.

The Sunburst Award jury has selected its longlist for the 2016 awards.

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic celebrates the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.

The winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.


  • Andre Alexis, Fifteen Dogs [Coach House Books]
  • Samuel Archibald, Arvida [Biblioasis]
  • Margaret Atwood, The Heart Goes Last [McClelland & Stewart]
  • Andrew Battershill, Pillow [Coach House Books]
  • Rebecca Bradley, Cadon, Hunter [self-published]
  • Matt Cahill, The Society of Experience [Wolsak & Wynn]
  • Jill Ciment, Act of God [Pantheon]
  • Alain Farah, Ravenscrag [House of Anansi Press] (Translated by Lazer Laderhendler)
  • Katherine Fawcett, The Little Washer of Sorrows [Thistledown Press]
  • Gemma Files, Experimental Film [Chizine Publications]
  • Alexandra Grigorescu, Cauchemar [ECW Press]
  • Lisa L. Hannett, Lament for the Afterlife [Chizine Publications]
  • D. J. McIntosh, The Angel of Eden [Penguin Canada]
  • Jamie McLachlan, Mind of the Phoenix [Penner Publishing]
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Signal to Noise [Solaris]
  • Heather O’Neill, Daydreams of Angels [HarperCollins Canada]
  • Andrew Pyper, The Damned [Simon & Schuster]
  • Simone St. James, The Other Side of Midnight [New American Library]
  • Carsten Stroud, The Reckoning [Penguin Random House]
  • Robert Charles Wilson, The Affinities [Tor]
  • A.C. Wise, The Ultra Fabulous Glitter Squadron Saves the World Again [Lethe Press]


  • Leah Bobet, An Inheritance of Ashes [Scholastic Canada]
  • David Carroll, Sight Unseen [Scholastic Canada]
  • Jason Chabot, Above [HarperTrophy]
  • Charis Cotter, The Swallow: A Ghost Story [Tundra Books]
  • Mikaela Everett, The Unquiet [HarperCollins Canada]
  • Melinda Friesen, Enslavement [Rebelight]
  • Kallie George, Magic Animal Adoption Agency: Clover’s Luck [HarperCollins Canada]
  • Fonda Lee, Zeroboxer [Flux]
  • Kenneth Oppel, The Nest [Simon & Schuster]
  • Carol Anne Shaw, Hannah and the Wild Woods [Ronsdale Press]
  • Neil Smith, Boo [Knopf]
  • Allan Stratton, The Dogs [Scholastic Canada]
  • Caitlin Sweet, The Flame in the Maze [Chizine Publications]
  • Robert J. Wiersema, Black Feathers [HarperCollins]


  • Karen Abrahamson, “With One Shoe” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Charlotte Ashley, “La Héron” [The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2015]
  • Rebecca Campbell, “The Glad Hosts” [Lackington’s Magazine, Issue 7]
  • Evelyn Deshane, “Carnival of Colours” [Only Disconnect, Summer 2015, Third Flatiron Publishing]
  • Mike Donoghue, “Stuck in the Past” [Abyss & Apex, Issue 54]
  • David J. Fuller, “The Harsh Light of Morning” [Wrestling With Gods: Tesseracts Eighteen, EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing]
  • Mark Hill, “The Zzzombie Apocalypse” [The Time It Happened, Spring 2015, Third Flatiron Publishing]
  • Patrick Johanneson, “Person to Person” [Daily Science Fiction]
  • Catherine A. MacLeod, “Hide and Seek” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia, “Lacrimosa” [Nightmare Magazine, Issue 38]
  • Dominik Parisien, “Goodbye is a Mouthful of Water” [Playground of Lost Toys, Exile Editions]
  • Dominik Parisien, “Spider Moves the World” [Lackington’s Magazine, Issue 6]
  • Kelly Robson, “Two-Year Man” [Asimov’s Science Fiction, August 2015]
  • Holly Schofield, “Two Steps Forward” [Scarecrow, World Weaver Press]
  • Peter Wendt, “Get the Message” [Second Contacts, Bundoran Press]

The Sunburst Award official shortlist will be announced on July 5. Sunburst Award winners will be announced on September 14.

The jurors for the 2016 award are Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

6 thoughts on “2016 Sunburst Longlist

  1. Mister Dalliard: Considering the effusive title given to people who catch copyediting mistakes, I am gonig going to have to come up with something really glorious for your catching an entire wrong post. Maybe the “Grass Crown for Fanediting”….

  2. Nah. I don’t get to delurk often. Knowing I was helpful when I did is reward enough.

    Also: gonig?

  3. Master Dalliard: “gonig” — You’re loading up on extra credit with this post…

Comments are closed.