2018 Kurd Laßwitz Preis

The winners of the 2018 Kurd Laßwitz Preis have been posted.

The award is given for works written in or translated into the German language and published during the previous year. Created in 1981, it is named after German author Kurd Laßwitz.

This news comes courtesy of Europa SF’s Nina Horvath who did the relevant German-to-English category translations.

The awards will be presented September 22 at ElsterCon in Leipzig, Germany.

Best German Science-Fiction Novel

  • Michael Marrak, Der Kanon mechanischer Seelen (AMRÛN)

[The name of the publishing houses are in brackets and written in capitals.]

Best German Short Prosa

  • Uwe Hermann, Das Internet der Dinge in: Carsten Könneker : Spektrum der Wissenschaft 6/2017, (SPEKTRUM DER WISSENSCHAFT VERLAGSGESELLSCHAFT)

Best Foreign Science-Fiction Book (translated into German):

  • Nnedi Okorafor, Das Buch des Phönix (The Book of Phoenix) (CROSS CULT)

Best Translation

  • Claudia Kern für die Übersetzung von Connie Willis, Dunkelheit / Licht (Blackout / All Clear), (CROSS CULT)

Best Radioplay

  • Paradise Revisited by Bodo Traber
    (Director: Bodo Traber; Composition: André Abshagen), WDR 2.11.17

Best Cover Art or Illustration

  • Lothar Bauer for the cover of Axel Kruse, Luna Incognita (ATLANTIS)

Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements

  • Thomas Le Blanc for founding and maintaining the Phantastische Bibliothek Wetzlar. (This is a library of speculative fiction.)

Update 06/12/2018: Corrected Short Prosa winner per comment.

2 thoughts on “2018 Kurd Laßwitz Preis

Comments are closed.