2018 Sidewise Awards Finalists

The finalists for this year’s Sidewise Awards have been revealed.

The winners will be announced on-line on October 15.

Short Form

  • Rick Wilber: “The Secret City,” Asimov’s, 9/10, 2018
  • Oscar (Xiu) Ramirez and Emmanuel Valtierra, Codex Valtierra, 2018

Long Form 

  • Mary Robinette Kowal, The Calculating Stars, Tor, 2018
  • Hannu Rajaniemi, Summerland, Tor, 2018
  • Charles Rosenberg, The Trial and Execution of the Traitor George Washington, Hanover Square, 2018
  • Lavie Tidhar, Unholy Land, Tachyon Publications, 2018

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were first given in 1996. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster’s 1934 short story “Sidewise in Time,” in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

[Thanks to Steven H Silver and Mark Hepworth for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

5 thoughts on “2018 Sidewise Awards Finalists

  1. I’ve read the Kowal (which was straightforward counterfactual) and the Tidhar (which started straightforward and veered weird). Is the Rajaniemi any less freaky than his early (?Quantum?) novels, and has anyone read the Rosenberg (which sounds like it could be interesting or could be pure look-at-the-author-being-clever didacticism)?

  2. @Chip

    Summerland is probably a bit calmer than the Quantum series, yes. My views on it were that the setting was really interesting (the discovery of an accessible afterlife in the early C20th) but the actual story wasn’t enough to carry it through.

  3. Pingback: Finalistas premios Sidewise 2018 – Fantástica – Ficción

  4. Pingback: Lavie Tidhar’s UNHOLY LAND is a Sidewise Award finalist - Tachyon Publications

Comments are closed.