2019 BooktubeSFF Voting Begins

Public voting on the 2019 BooktubeSFF Awards has started and will remain open through July 8.

Booktube is the segment of YouTube dominated by booklovers who use the platform to discuss and share our love of reading. SFF stands for Science Fiction and Fantasy, and the BooktubeSFF community are those of us within Booktube who focus our reading on those genres. The BooktubeSFF community isn’t just limited to people who make videos, it’s everyone who watches, comments, and loves SFF!

The BooktubeSFF Awards were created in 2015. There is more guidance at the ballot:

We use Instant Run-Off voting (also called preferential/alternative voting) which means you put the works in order of your preference…

One vote ballot per person please. We’re collecting emails purely to try and validate this and all email data will be deleted after the awards are over. Please don’t try and scam the vote by doing it with multiple email addresses. We’re a small award and this is meant to be a bit of fun! If we believe you are cheating we’ll remove your votes.

The winners will be revealed during the #BooktubeSFF Awards Liveshow on July 13 at 3 p.m. CST/9 p.m. BST on Sam’s channel Thoughts on Tomes.

Here’s Claire Rousseau’s pitch —

These are the shortlisted works up for vote:

Best Fantasy

  • Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett.
  • Grey Sister by Mark Lawrence.
  • Circe by Madeleine Miller.

Best Science Fiction

  • Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers.
  • The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal.
  • Vengeful by V.E. Schwab.

Best Young Adult Novel

  • The Cruel Prince by Holly Black.
  • Skyward by Brandon Sanderson.
  • Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor.

Best Middle Grade Novel

  • Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi.
  • City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab.
  • Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend.

Best Debut Novel

  • Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi.
  • The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang.
  • Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse.

Best Graphic Work

  • Monstress Vol 3: Haven by Marjorie M. Liu & Sana Takeda.
  • The Adventure Zone: Here there be Gerblins by Clint McElroy, Griffin McElroy, Travis McElroy, Justin McElroy and Carey Pietsch.
  • Aquicorn Cove by Katie O’Neill

Best Short Work

  • Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire.
  • Binti: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor.
  • Artificial Condition by Martha Wells.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.