2019 Crime Fiction Awards News

MCILVANNEY PRIZES. Two award winners were announced at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival  in Stirling, Scotland on September 20.

Scottish noir is celebrated by the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year.  

And the winner of the 2019 McIlvanney Debut Prize is —

NED KELLY AWARDS. The 2019 Ned Kelly Awards, given by the Australian Crime Writing Association, were presented on September 6.

Best True Crime

  • Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee

Best First Fiction

  • The Rúin by Dervla McTiernan

Best Fiction

  • The Lost Man by Jane Harper

DAVITT AWARDS. The winners of the 2019 Davitt Awards, handed out by Sisters in Crime Australia, were named on August 31. (List obtained with an assist from crime fiction news site Shots.)

Best Adult Crime Novel

  • The Rúin by Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Australia)

Best Young Adult Crime Novel

  • Small Spaces by Sarah Epstein (Walker Books)

Best Children’s Crime Novel

  • Wakestone Hall by Judith Rossell (ABC Books)

Best Non-fiction Crime Book

  • The Arsonist by Chloe Hooper (Penguin Random House)

Best Debut Novel

  • Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee (Allen & Unwin)

Readers’ Choice

  • The Lost Man by Jane Harper (Pan Macmillan Australia)

PINCKLEY PRIZES. The 2019 Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction, awarded by the Women’s National Book Association of New Orleans, honor two women writers. Both winners will receive both a financial award of $2,500 and a trip to New Orleans to accept their prize at a ceremony on October 10.

The Pinckley Prize for Distinguished Body of Work 

  • Megan Abbott

The Pinckley Prize for Debut Novel

  • Sarah St. Vincent

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “2019 Crime Fiction Awards News

  1. The 2019 Ned Kelly Awards, given by the Australian Crime Writing Association, were presented on September 6

    LOL. After all the many genuine and heartfelt discussions about literary awards named after famous dead people, none of us thought to just push right through to other side. They’ve zero worries about their titular figure being revealed as less than savoury.

  2. IMO, the Ned Kelly Awards are nothing compared to Canada’s Arthur Ellis Awards, which are named after Canada’s last hangman. The trophy is a wooden artist’s mannequin on a gallows and IMO the creepiest awards trophy out there, including the old World Fantasy Award, which was pretty damn creepy.

Comments are closed.