2019 Dream Foundry Writing and Art Contest Winners

Dream Foundry announced the winners of its inaugural contest for speculative fiction writers and artists. 


  • 1st: Jamie Adams
  • 2nd: Claire Whitmore
  • 3rd: Rose Wachowski
  • Honorable Mention: Lynne Sargent


  • 1st: Alison Johnstun
  • 2nd: Christine Rhee
  • 3rd: Lauren Blake

    Honorable Mentions: Zara Alfonso, Emily Leung, James Russell

First place winners from both contests receive $500, and all winners are getting critiques from professionals in their fields.  

The writing contest was open to anyone who did yet qualify to join SFWA as an associate member. William Ledbetter was the contest coordinator.  Charles Coleman Finlay, editor of Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and Lisa Rodgers, agent at JABberwocky, served as judges.

The art contest was open to new artists who have not been professionally published and paid for more than three black-and-white story illustrations, or more than one process-color painting, in media distributed broadly to the general public. Judging of the ten final artists was done by Rachel Quinlan.

Dream Foundry is a registered 501(c) non-profit dedicated to bolstering the careers of nascent professionals working with the speculative arts.  You can join their community at forum.dreamfoundry.org, find weekly content at dreamfoundry.org/blog.

[Based on a press release.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.