2019 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Shortlist

Finalits for this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award  for best science fiction novel have been selected. The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Award Banquet on Friday, June 28.

  • Semiosis Sue Burke
  • A Spy in Time by Imraan Coovadia
  • The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Time Was by Ian McDonald
  • Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller
  • Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice
  • Theory of Bastards by Audrey Schulman
  • Unholy Land by Lavie Tidhar
  • Space Opera by Catherynne M. Valente
  • The Freeze-Frame Revolution by Peter Watts
  • The Loosening Skin by Aliya Whiteley  

The award jurors are Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Chris McKitterick, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

4 thoughts on “2019 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Shortlist

  1. I’ve read one of those, The Calculating Stars. It was a freebie at Norwescon, as was the sequel. They’re good, but I had trouble continuing reading in the early parts.

  2. Congratulations to the nominees!

    Good to see Peter Watts’ The Freeze-Frame Revolution getting some love.

  3. Yes, I’m also delighted to see The Freeze-Frame Revolution getting some well-deserved recognition. It’s nice to see The Calculating Stars and Semiosis on there, too.

  4. Pingback: Finalistas de los premios John W. Campbell Memorial 2019 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.