2019 Macavity Awards

Mystery Readers International announced the winners of the 2019 Macavity Awards on October 31 at Bouchercon in Dallas, TX.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

Best Novel

  • Lou Berney: November Road (William Morrow)

Best First Novel

  • John Copenhaver: Dodging and Burning (Pegasus Books)

Best Nonfiction

  • Sarah Weinman: The Real Lolita: The Kidnapping of Sally Horner and the Novel That Scandalized the World (HarperCollins)

Best Short Story

  • Art Taylor: “English 398: Fiction Workshop” (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Jul/Aug 2018)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery

  • Sujata Massey: The Widows of Malabar Hill (Soho Crime)

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.