2019 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2019 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction story have been selected. Christopher McKitterick, Director of the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction, made the announcement March 5. The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards reception on Friday, June 21, 2019.

2019 Finalists for the Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Freezing Rain, A Chance of Falling,” L.X. Beckett. Fantasy and Science Fiction, July 2018.
  • “The Only Harmless Great Thing,” Brooke Bolander. Tor.com Books
  • “The Secret Life of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington,” P. Djèlí Clark. Fireside Fiction, Feb 2018.
  • “Umbernight,” Carolyn Ives Gilman. Clarkesworld, Feb 2018.
  • “Nine Last Days on Planet Earth,” Daryl Gregory. tor.com, Sept 2018.
  • “When We Were Starless,” Simone Heller. Clarkesworld, Oct 2018.
  • “The Starship and the Temple Cat,” Yoon Ha Lee. Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Feb 2018.
  • “When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis,” Annalee Newitz. Slate.com, Dec 2018.
  • “Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach,” Kelly Robson. Tor.com Books
  • “On the Day You Spend Forever with Your Dog,” Adam Shannon. Apex, Dec 2018.
  • “Yard Dog,” Tade Thompson. Fiyah, July 2018.

The Sturgeon Award jury members are Elizabeth Bear, Andy Duncan, James Gunn, Kij Johnson, and Nöel Sturgeon, Trustee of the Theodore Sturgeon Literary Estate.

The award was established in 1987 by James Gunn, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

[Based on the press release.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “2019 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

  1. Pingback: Anunciados los finalistas de los premios Theodore Sturgeon Memorial 2019 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.