2019 World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards 2019 were presented at World Fantasy Con 2019 in Los Angeles on November 3.


  • Witchmark by C. L. Polk (Tor.com)


  • “The Privilege of the Happy Ending” by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, Aug. 2018)

Short Fiction


  • “Ten Deals with the Indigo Snake” by Mel Kassel (Lightspeed, October 2018)
  • “Like a River Loves the Sky” by Emma Törzs (Uncanny Magazine, March-April 2018)


  • Worlds Seen in Passing: Ten Years of Tor.com Short Fiction, edited by Irene Gallo (Tor.com)


  • The Tangled Lands, by Paolo Bacigalupi and Tobias S. Buckell (Saga Press/Head of Zeus UK)


  • Rovina Cai

Special Award – Professional

  • Huw Lewis-Jones for The Writer’s Map: An Atlas of Imaginary Lands (University of Chicago Press)

Special Award – Non-Professional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies: Literary Adventure Fantasy

2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Hayao Miyazaki
  • Jack Zipes

  • Robert Silverberg
  • Margo Lanagan
  • Reiko Murakami
  • Sheree Renée Thomas
  • Beth Meacham
  • Tad Williams
  • Jack Zipes
  • Tobias Buckell

[Winners via Locus livetweet.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

6 thoughts on “2019 World Fantasy Awards

  1. Margo Lanagan’s name is misspelled as Margo “Langan” in the bullet heading just before the reproduced tweet that includes her photo.

  2. @Bonnie McDaniel: looks like a separator is needed above AgBob’s bullet.

    @StephenFromOttawa’s finding seem to have been fixed, but the con website says another guest’s name is Sheree Renée Thomas rather than as shown in her bullet.

    Congratulations to all the winners. (I was offsite due to an only chance to hear the LA Phil in situ — turns out Gehry designed the organ as well as the exterior.) I didn’t think much of “The Tangled Lands” but may reread it; loved the Polk.

  3. Pingback: Ganadores de los premios World Fantasy 2019 – Fantástica – Ficción

  4. A couple of thoughts on the awards ceremony, which ran early afternoon on Sunday.

    Each of the convention guests gave a short talk at the start of the festivities. This was the only time they were all together at once during the convention.

    Jack Zipes accepted his life achievement award and left for the airport immediately to make sure he caught his flight. (issues at LAX airport made it take much longer to get to the airport from the LAX Marriott).

    The short fiction tie led to a unique situation. Emma Törzs was prepared to accept for Mel Kassel and had Mel’s acceptance speech to read. Emma, however, had not prepared one for herself in case she won, so she winged it.

    C. L. Polk was totally surprised to be the winner and gave a very moving acceptance speech.

    Paolo Bacigalupi had an early flight, so was not able to be there to accept his award in person. Tobias spent the rest of the day in the bar with his award.

Comments are closed.