2020 Aurora Award Ballot

The 2020 Aurora Awards finalists have been announced. The awards are nominated by members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association, for Science Fiction / Fantasy works done in 2019 by Canadians. The top five nominated works were selected.  Additional works were included where there was a tie for fifth place. 

The Aurora Awards voters’ package will be available for CSFFA members to download on the week of May 18th. Voting for the awards will begin on June 20.  Both the voters’ package and the ballot close at 11:59 pm EDT on July 25.

The awards ceremony will be held online in conjunction with When Words Collide (Calgary) on August 15.  

Best Novel

  • Haunting The Haunted by E. C. Bell, Tyche Books
  • The Gossamer Mage by Julie E. Czerneda, DAW Books
  • A Brightness Long Ago by Guy Gavriel Kay, Viking Canada
  • The Quantum Garden by Derek Künsken, Solaris Books
  • Jade War by Fonda Lee, Orbit Books
  • Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Del Rey

Best Young Adult Novel

  • Wolf’s Bane by Kelley Armstrong, K.L.A. Fricke Inc
  • The Brilliant Dark: The Realms of Ancient, Book 3 by S.M. Beiko, ECW Press
  • The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Metamorphosis by Marty Chan, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
  • Bursts of Fire by Susan Forest, Laksa Media Groups Inc
  • Murder at the World’s Fair by MJ Lyons, Renaissance

Best Short Fiction

  • This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone, Saga Press
  • Clear as Quartz, Sharp as Flint by Maria Haskins, Augur Magazine, issue 2.1
  • Alice Payne Rides by Kate Heartfield, Tor.com Publishing
  • Little Inn on the Jianghu by Y.M. Pang, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, September
  • Modigliani Paints the World by Hayden Trenholm, Neo-Opsis, Issue #30
  • Blindside by Liz Westbrook-Trenholm, Amazing Stories, v. 77, issue no. 1, Fall

Best Graphic Novel

  • The Handmaid’s Tale: The Graphic Novel by Margaret Atwood and Renee Nault, McClelland & Stewart
  • Krampus is My Boyfriend! by S.M. Beiko, Webcomic
  • It Never Rains by Kari Maaren, Webcomic
  • Carpe Fin: A Haida Manga by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas, Douglas & McIntyre
  • Dakwäkãda Warriors by Cole Pauls, Conundrum Press

Best Poem/Song

  • The Girl Who Loved Birds by Clara Blackwood, Amazing Stories Magazine, v. 76, no. 3, Spring
  • At the Edge of Space and Time by Swati Chavda, Love at the Speed of Light, Ancient Hound Books
  • Steampunk Christmas by David Clink, Star*Line,  v. 42, no. 4., Fall
  • The Day the Animals Turned to Sand by Tyler Hagemann, Amazing Stories Magazine, v. 76, issue no. 3, Spring
  • Totemic Ants by Francine P. Lewis, Amazing Stories Magazine, v. 77, issue no. 1, Fall 
  • Beauty, Sleeping by Lynne Sargent, Augur Magazine, issue 2.2
  • Bursts of Fire by Sora, theme song for book trailers

Best Related Work

  • PodCastle by Jen R. Albert and Cherae Clark, Escape Artists Inc.
  • Nothing Without Us by Cait Gordon and Talia C. Johnson, Renaissance
  • Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine edited by Karl Johanson
  • Lackington’s Magazine,edited by Ranylt Richildis (online)
  • Dave Duncan’s Legacy by Robert Runté, On Spec Magazine issue 111
  • Augur Magazine, Issue 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3 published by Kerrie Seljak-Byrne
  • On Spec Magazine, Diane L. Walton, Managing Editor, The Copper Pig Writers Society

Best Visual Presentation

  • The Umbrella Academy, Steve Blackman, Dark Horse Entertainment
  • V Wars (Season 1), William Laurin and Glenn Davis, High Park Entertainment
  • Killjoys (Season 5), Michelle Lovretta and Adam Barken, Temple Street Productions
  • Murdoch Mysteries (Ep. 10-18/Season 12 and Ep. 1-9/Season 13), Peter Mitchell and Christina Jennings, Shaftesbury Films
  • Van Helsing (Season 4), Jonathan Lloyd Walker, Nomadic Pictures

Best Artist

  • Samantha M. Beiko, cover for Bursts of Fire
  • James F. Beveridge, cover for Fata Morgana and cover for On Spec #112
  • Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk, A Rivet of Robots in On Spec Magazine and Cartoons in Amazing Stories
  • Nathan Fréchette, covers for Renaissance Press
  • Dan O’Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press and cover for On Spec Magazine #110

Best Fan Writing and Publications

  • R. Graeme Cameron, weekly columns in Amazing Stories (online)
  • R. Graeme Cameron, Polar Borealis, Issues #9 to #12, editor
  • Jennifer Desmarais, Travelling TARDIS, JenEric Designs
  • Steve Fahnestalk, weekly columns in Amazing Stories (online)
  • Ron S. Friedman, Will Voyager 1 leave the Milky Way?, Quora
  • Christina Vasilevski, Books and Tea

Best Fan Organizational

  • KT Bryski and Jen R. Albert, ephemera reading series, Toronto
  • Brent Jans, Pure Speculation Science Fiction and Fantasy Festival, Edmonton
  • Derek Künsken and Marie Bilodeau, co-chairs, Can-Con, Ottawa
  • Randy McCharles, chair, When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Sandra Wickham, Creative Ink Festival, Burnaby, BC

Best Fan Related Work

  • Brandon Crilly and Evan May, Broadcasts from the Wasteland, podcast
  • Kari Maaren, Music on YouTube Channel
  • Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating Canada
  • Joshua Pantalleresco, Just Joshing, podcast
  • Edward Willett, The Worldshapers, podcast

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 thoughts on “2020 Aurora Award Ballot

  1. Ooh, nice to see Julie Czerneda’s name there. (Though now that I check the records, I see she’s already got a few Auroras. Obviously, I should pay more attention to this award.)

Comments are closed.