2020 Imadjinn Awards Finalists

The Imaginarium Convention released the 2020 Imadjinn Awards finalists on July 14.

The winners selected by the jury will be announced during an awards ceremony on September 27, the final day of the Imaginarium 2020 Virtual Conference and Convention.

Best Anthology

  • Malice in Memphis presents Mayhem IN Memphis – edited by Carolyn McSparren
  • Tales Of The Lost – edited by Eugene Johnson
  • Dark Tides – edited by John J. Questore & Eugene Johnson

Best Audiobook Narration

  • Spook House – written by Michael West & narrated by Nila B Hagood
  • Cinema of Shadows – written by Michael West & narrated by Nila B Hagood
  • Protecting Peyton – written by Becky Muth & narrated by Jennifer Gilmour

Best Children’s Book

  • Cleo and Roger Discover Columbus, Indiana – written by Kimberly Hoffman
  • The Day Please Slept In – written by Leah Pugh
  • My Mom Is Sick and It’s Okay – written by Angie McPherson

Best Fantasy Novel

  • To Kill a Fae (The Dragon Portal, Book 1) – written by Jamie A. Waters
  • The Amulet of Elements – written by Rose Marie Machario
  • Things They Buried – written by Amanda K. King & Michael R. Swanson

Best Historical Fiction Novel

  • Subterfuge – written by Erv Klein

Best Horror Novel

  • The Crymost – written by Dean H. Wild
  • Squirrel Apocalypse – written by Josef Matulich
  • The Immortal Force – written by Stephen Paul Sayers

Best Literary Fiction Novel

Anybody Want to Play WAR? – written by Tommy B. Smith

Best Mystery Novel

  • NO JOKE: A Folly Beach Mystery – written by Bill Noel
  • Murder Under A Blue Moon – written by Abigail Keam
  • Death By Stalking – written by Abigail Keam

Best Non-Fiction Book

  • Something to Believe In – written by Amy Leigh McCorkle
  • Tell Me More: Humor in a Digital Age: Conversations with Scammers, Clerks and Kids – written by Tony Acree
  • get GOING: From Here to There – written by Ana Maria Selvaggio

Best Paranormal Romance Novel

  • The Guardian – written by Amy Leigh McCorkle

Best Romance Novel

  • A Cowboy Charming Christmas – written by Mina Beckett
  • Kiss from the Past – written by Jill Campbell

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Harvest Day – written by R. Kyle Hannah
  • Things They Buried – written by Amanda K King & Michael R. Swanson

Best Short Story

  • Woman of the Grid – written by Sandy Lender
  • Water of Life – written by Kathy L. Brown
  • Kill Me When You Can – written by William Allen Webb

Best Short Story Collection (single author)

  • Terror in Time – written by Melodie Romeo
  • Hero Without a Cape – written by Katheryn Ragle

Best Steampunk Novel

  • Black Recluse – written by Anna Bowman

Best Thriller Novel

  • Obliteration Protocol – written by E.G. Rowley
  • Tybee Island H-Bomb – written by Michael Houtchen
  • The Drive To Kill – written by Joe Bianco

Best Urban Fantasy Novel

  • Love, Lies, and Hocus Pocus Betrayal (the Lily Singer Adventures, Book 5) – written by Lydia Sherrer
  • Wolf Dreams – written by Aimee Easterling
  • A Drop of Magic – written by Lauren Braden
  • Tattered Men – written by Michael Williams

Best Young Adult Novel

  • 99% Faking It – written by Chris Canada
  • Persnickety Jones and the Pirates of Undertoe – written by Robert Turk writing as Robert Ottoman
  • The Evil Within: Book One in the Witches of Blackstone Series – written by Karen Kasey

[Via Locus Online.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

2 thoughts on “2020 Imadjinn Awards Finalists

  1. Can anyone give me the elevator-speech-from-outside about who this group is and what they looked for? I don’t see an “about” on the parent page; the sponsorship page says The Imaginarium Convention mission is to help creative individuals along their journeys through providing opportunities for education, networking, professional development, mentorship, and other means of support within inclusive, welcoming environments. which sounds like it could be anything from a good convention for writers to a place to mulct wannabes. I’m wondering about the latter given that I don’t recognize a single name or title among the nominees list, which also has no publishers listed. (No, I haven’t looked up the books elsewhere — this may just be the way Imaginarium does things.)
    Yes, the fact that I don’t know someone doesn’t mean they’re not notable; the fact that I don’t know anyone leads me to wonder, given that I knew at least a few of the Sunburst nominees. This could just be a very regional group; another page mentions a focus on eastern Kentucky, but one of the guests (digging through past press releases) is from New Orleans and one of the nominees features Memphis.

  2. The convention is run by Seventh Star Press, which appears to be the equivalent of a local writer’s group or self-publishing consortium, and was started by this guy. (Jason Sizemore is listed as one of the press’ authors.)

    The award finalists are not limited to Seventh Star’s authors, and based on the rules (which seem to be similar to how the Clarke Award works), it doesn’t look as though it’s a pay-to-play “award”.

    Seventh Star Press and the Imaginarium Convention look as though they’ve been built up into a decent support network for writers — and one that’s a lot less toxic than 20BooksTo50K — so good for them.

Comments are closed.