2020 Strand Critics Award Nominees

The Strand Magazine has announced the nominees for its 2020 Strand Critics Awards recognizing excellence in the field of mystery fiction and publishing.

Best Mystery Novel (2019)

  • Big Sky by Kate Atkinson (Little, Brown and Co.)
  • The Lost Man by Jane Harper (Flatiron Books)
  • The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz (Harper)
  • Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman (William Morrow)
  • Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke (Mulholland Books)
  • The Border by Don Winslow (William Morrow)

Best Debut Novel (2019)

  • Scrublands by Chris Hammer (Atria Books)
  • Miracle Creek by Angie Kim (Sarah Crichton Books, FSG)
  • One Night Gone by Tara Laskowski (Graydon House)
  • The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides (Celadon Books)
  • Three-Fifths by John Vercher (Agora Books)

Publisher of the Year Award

  • Bronwen Hruska, publisher of Soho Press.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Tess Gerritsen
  • Walter Mosley

The annual Strand Critics Awards are judged by a select group of book critics and journalists. This year’s judges include talent from NPR, USA Today, LA Times, and The Washington Post.

The Strand Critics Awards will be held virtually on September 4.

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.