2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards Longlist

The 12 books up for the 2021 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Novel, the New Zealand crime fiction award, were announced July 14.


 The Stone Weta, by Octavia Cade (Paper Road Press)
 The Girl in the Middle, by Rose Carlyle (Allen & Unwin)
 The Snow Thief, by C.J. Carver (Right Nuisance)
 Shakti, by Rajorshi Chakraborti (Penguin)
 Dance Prone, by David Coventry (Pan Macmillan)
 The Murder Club, by Nikki Crutchley (Oak House Press)
 Sprigs, by Brannavan Gnanalingam (Lawrence & Gibson)
 Caught Between, by Jeannie McLean (Self-published)
 The Tally Stick, by Carl Nixon (Random House)
 The Secrets of Strangers, by Charity Norman (Allen & Unwin)
 Tell Me Lies, by J.P. Pomare (Hachette)
 Soldiers, by Tom Remiger (Text)

INAUGURAL PRIZE FOR NOVEL FOR YOUNGER READERS. Also, for the first time, a commendation will be presented to a novel written specifically for younger readers. The finalists are:

 Katipo Joe: Blitzkrieg, by Brian Falkner (Scholastic New Zealand)
 Red Edge, by Des Hunt (Scholastic New Zealand)
 A Trio of Sophies, by Eileen Merriman (Penguin)
 Deadhead, by Glenn Wood (OneTree House)

The Ngaio Marsh finalists for Best Novel, Best First Novel, and Best Non-fiction will be announced on August 28. The winners will be unveiled in October.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards Longlist

  1. Pingback: Awardwatch – 2021 Ngaio Marsh Awards | SFFANZ News

Comments are closed.