2021 Shirley Jackson Award Nominees

The 2021 Shirley Jackson Award nominees have been released.

The juried award is given for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The nominees for the 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


  • All the Murmuring Bones by A.G. Slatter (Titan Books)
  • Hummingbird Salamander by Jeff VanderMeer (MCD)
  • My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones (Saga Press)
  • No Gods, No Monsters by Cadwell Turnbull (Blackstone Publishing)
  • Nothing But Blackened Teeth by Cassandra Khaw (Nightfire)


  • Comfort Me with Apples by Catherynne M. Valente (Tordotcom)
  • Dirty Heads: A novella of cosmic coming-of-age horror by Aaron Dries (Black T-Shirt Books)
  • Flowers for the Sea by Zin E. Rocklyn (Tordotcom)
  • A Rose / Arose by Michael Bailey (Written Backwards)
  • The Route of Ice and Salt by José Luis Zárate, translated by David Bowles (Innsmouth Free Press)


  • House of Crows by Lisa Unger (Amazon Original Stories)
  • “The Nag Bride” by A.C. Wise (The Ghost Sequences, Undertow Publications)
  • The Night Belongs to Us by Jess Landry (Independent Legions Publishing)
  • “We, the Girls Who Did Not Make It” by E. A. Petricone (Nightmare Magazine, February 2021)
  • The Women by Margaret Jameson (F(r)iction)


  • “Dizzy in the Weeds” by L.D. Lewis (Unfettered Hexes: Queer Tales of Insatiable Darkness)
  • “Forward, Victoria” by Carlie St. George (The Dark Magazine, April 2021)
  • “Gordon B. White is Creating Haunting Weird Horror” by Gordon B. White (Nightmare Magazine, July 2021)
  • “Human Reason” by Nicasio Andres Reed (Unfettered Hexes: Queer Tales of Insatiable Darkness)
  • “You’ll Understand When You’re a Mom Someday” by Isabel J. Kim (khōréō magazine, August 2021)


  • Folk Songs for Trauma Surgeons: Stories by Keith Rosson (Meerkat Press)
  • People from My Neighborhood by Hiromi Kawakami, translated by Ted Goossen (Soft Skull Press)
  • Sometimes We’re Cruel by J.A.W. McCarthy (Cemetery Gates Media)
  • We are Happy, We are Doomed by Kurt Fawver (Grimscribe Press)
  • Where All is Night, and Starless by John Linwood Grant (Trepidatio Publishing)


  • Giving The Devil His Due: A Charity Anthology, edited by Rebecca Brewer (Running Wild Press)
  • Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World, edited by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books)
  • Stitched Lips: An Anthology of Horror from Silenced Voices, edited by Ken MacGregor (Dragon’s Roost Press)
  • There Is No Death, There Are No Dead, edited by Jess Landry & Aaron J. French (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Unfettered Hexes: Queer Tales of Insatiable Darkness, edited by dave ring (Neon Hemlock)


The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. will present a Special Award to Ms. Datlow in recognition of the anthology When Things Get Dark: Stories inspired by Shirley Jackson (Titan Books, 2021).

Ms. Datlow was a nominee for the Shirley Jackson Award for Edited Anthology for the years 2011, 2013 (with Terri Windling), 2015, 2017, and 2019, and won the award in this category for the years 2007, 2009, and 2014.

Previous recipients of a Special Award from the Shirley Jackson Awards are Joyce Carol Oates as editor of the Library of America edition of Shirley Jackson:  Novels & Stories (Library of America, 2010) and Ruth Franklin in recognition of her biography Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright/W.W. Norton, 2016).

The 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented in-person on October 29 as part of the Boston Book Festival, in partnership with Readercon, Conference on Imaginative Literature.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.