2022 Lord Ruthven Awards

The winners of the 2022 Lord Ruthven Assembly Awards, presented for the best fiction on vampires and the best academic work on the study of the vampire figure in culture and literature, were announced at this year’s virtual International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts. On March 19

This year the LRA members voted for:


  • The Night Library of Sternendach. A Vampire Opera in Verse by Jessica Levai



  • The Transmedia Vampire: Essays on Technological Convergence and the Undead by Simon Bacon
  • A History of the Vampire in Popular Culture. Love at First Bite by Violet Fenn


  • Midnight Mass


  • Elizabeth Miller, for her foundational contributions to vampire, specifically Dracula, studies.

The LRAssembly also acknowledged the passing of author Anne Rice, “who is often considered the most prominent writer of vampire fiction in the 20th century.”

The awards take their name from the vampire antagonist in John Polidori’s “The Vampyre” (1819) and are given by the Lord Ruthven Assembly, an organization affiliated with the IAFA whose objectives include the serious pursuit of scholarship and research focusing on the vampire/revenant figure in a variety of disciplines. The Lord Ruthven Assembly is a public group on Facebook.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.