Annalee Newitz Wins 2019 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

Annalee Newitz’ short story “When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis” is the winner of the 2019 Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award.

The award was presented during the Campbell Conference Awards reception on Friday, June 28.

Newitz’ story was published in in Dec 2018.

2019 Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award

The Sturgeon Award jury members are Elizabeth Bear, Andy Duncan, James Gunn, Kij Johnson, and Nöel Sturgeon, Trustee of the Theodore Sturgeon Literary Estate.

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award recognizes the best science fiction short story of each year. It was established in 1987 by James Gunn, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

The other finalists were:

  • “Freezing Rain, A Chance of Falling,” L.X. Beckett. Fantasy and Science Fiction, July 2018.
  • “The Only Harmless Great Thing,” Brooke Bolander. Books
  • “The Secret Life of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington,” P. Djèlí Clark. Fireside Fiction, Feb 2018.
  • “Umbernight,” Carolyn Ives Gilman. Clarkesworld, Feb 2018.
  • “Nine Last Days on Planet Earth,” Daryl Gregory., Sept 2018.
  • “When We Were Starless,” Simone Heller. Clarkesworld, Oct 2018.
  • “The Starship and the Temple Cat,” Yoon Ha Lee. Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Feb 2018.
  • “Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach,” Kelly Robson. Books
  • “On the Day You Spend Forever with Your Dog,” Adam Shannon. Apex, Dec 2018.
  • “Yard Dog,” Tade Thompson. Fiyah, July 2018.

4 thoughts on “Annalee Newitz Wins 2019 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  1. Newitz’ story is clever and heartwarming. Very fitting that it won a Sturgeon award.

  2. The story is weirder than anything I recall of Sturgeon (and I’m now most of the way through the Complete), but it has the same human heart that he brought to SF. Wonderful choice for the award.

  3. Pingback: Ganadora del premio Theodore Sturgeon Memorial 2019 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.