BBC Audio Drama Awards 2021 Finalists

The finalists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2021 have been revealed. They include several productions of genre interest.

  • Body Horror, about someone in 2050 who receives a new body, is a nominee for Best Original Series or Serial
  • Murmurs, 10-episode series of the horror and supernatural is a finalist in the Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama category. “There’s a crack in reality and something’s breaking through. Ten mind-altering tales from some of the best new drama podcast writers.” Episode One, Over and Out, is nominated for Best Use of Sound.
  • Another Best Use of Sound finalist is The Grey Man and other lost legends, “A strange craft crash lands on a mountain plateau, with far-reaching consequences. Sebastian Baczkiewicz weaves interviews about Scotland’s yeti into an innovative audio drama.”

The winners will be announced March 26.

The complete list of finalists follows the jump.

The Finalists

Best Actor

  • Robin Laing, This Thing of Darkness, directors Gaynor Macfarlane and Kirsty Williams, BBC Scotland
  • Matthew Needham, Othello, director Emma Harding, BBC Radio Drama London
  • David Threlfall, Happiness!, director Gemma Jenkins, BBC Radio Drama London

Best Actress

  • Shauna Macdonald, This Thing of Darkness, directors Gaynor Macfarlane and Kirsty Williams, BBC Scotland
  • Maggie Steed, Suffer Little Children, director Jessica Dromgoole, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Marcia Warren, 24 Kildare Rd, director Mary Peate, BBC Radio Drama London

Best Adaptation

  • Grossman’s War: Stalingrad by Vasily Grossman, adapted by Jonathan Myerson & Mike Walker, producer Jonquil Panting, BBC Cymru Wales
  • Oliver: Lagos to London, based on Charles Dickens, adapted by Ayeesha Menon, producer Gill Parry, feral inc
  • The Voyage of the St Louis by Daniel Kehlmann, adapted by Tom Stoppard, producer Sasha Yevtushenko, BBC Radio Drama London

Best Debut Performance

  • Dan Krikler, Unicorns, Almost, director John Retallack, The Story of Books
  • Jordan Nash, Oliver: Lagos to London, director Michael Buffong, feral inc
  • Valentine Olukoga, Half of a Yellow Sun, director Nadia Molinari, BBC Radio Drama North

Best European Drama

  • Earthquake by Janko Poli? Kamov, producer Katja Šimuni?, HRT Croatian Radio
  • Holidays from Suicide: a Fantastic Journey with Iggy Pop written and produced by Birgit Kempker and Anatol Atonal, SRF (Switzerland)
  • In Winter by Magda Woitzuck, Ida Schön, Hanno Millesi, Mark von Schlegell, Ann Cotten, Puneh Ansari, producer Christian Lerch, ORF (Austria)

Best Original Series or Serial

  • 24 Kildare Rd by Katie Hims, producer Mary Peate, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Body Horror by Lucy Catherine, producer Toby Swift, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Broken English by Shelagh Stephenson, producer Eoin O’Callaghan, Big Fish Productions

Best Original Single Drama

  • Eight Point Nine Nine by James Fritz, producer Becky Ripley, BBC Bristol
  • The Likes of Us by Roy Williams, producer Mary Peate, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Magnitsky the Musical by Robert Hudson and Johnny Flynn, producer Sasha Yevtushenko, BBC Radio Drama London

Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama

  • Murmurs by Janina Matthewson, Tom Crowley, Beth Crane, Chris and Jen Sugden, producers James Robinson, John Norton, Helen Perry, and David Devereux, writers Janina Matthewson, Beth Crane, Tom Crowley, Greer Ellison, Eno Mfon, Jesse Schwenk, Chris and Jen Sugden, and Robert Valentine, BBC Cymru Wales
  • Tribulation by Adam Jahnke, producer Greg Cooler, ListenUp Audio
  • Unwell: a Midwestern Gothic Mystery, producers Jeffrey Nils Gardner and Eleanor Hyde, HartLife NFP

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

  • Alone by Moray Hunter, producer Gordon Kennedy, Absolutely Productions
  • The Musical Life of Boudicca… by Dan Kiss and Dave Cribb, producers Dave Cribb and Tom Price, The Rubber Chicken
  • Tristram Shandy: In Development by Christopher Douglas, producer Gary Brown, BBC Radio Drama North

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

  • Agendum by Joel Morris and Jason Hazeley, producer David Tyler, Pozzitive
  • The Lenny Henry Show by Tasha Dhanraj, Max Davis, Nathan Bryon and Tom Melia, Nathan Roberts, Athena Kugblenu, Michael Odweale and Kim Fuller, producer Sam Michell, Douglas Road Productions and Tiger Aspect
  • The Skewer, creator and producer Jon Holmes, Unusual Productions

Best Use of Sound

  • Cane, sound by Nigel Lewis, producer John Norton, BBC Cymru Wales
  • The Grey Man and Other Lost Legends, sound by Steve Bond, producers Joby Waldman and Steve Bond, Reduced Listening
  • Over and Out (Murmurs Ep 1), sound by Catherine Robinson, producers John Norton, James Robinson and David Devereux, BBC Cymru Wales

The Year of Reinvention

  • Connections, producer Polly Thomas, Naked Productions
  • Lockdown Theatre Festival, producers Bertie Carvel, Jeremy Mortimer, Steve Bond, Jack Howson and Joby Waldman, Reduced Listening
  • The Plague, producer Turan Ali, Bona Broadcasting

Imison Award

  • Fraser Ayres, for Maynard, produced by Mel Harris for BBC Radio 4
  • Isaac Fisher for Scoop McDoolie, produced by Naala Vanslembrouck for Apple Podcasts
  • Ella Skolimowski for LoveSick, produced by Julius Beltrame for Apple Podcasts

Tinniswood Award

  • Christopher Douglas for Tristram Shandy: In Development, produced by Gary Brown for BBC Radio 4
  • Becky Prestwich for Just the Three of Us, produced by Pauline Harris for BBC Radio 4
  • Anita Vettesse with Eileen Horne for This Thing of Darkness Episode 7, produced by Gaynor Macfarlane and Kirsty Williams for BBC Radio 4
  • Isabel Wright for Shrapnel, produced by Gaynor Macfarlane for BBC Radio 4

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One thought on “BBC Audio Drama Awards 2021 Finalists

  1. Adding to the “productions of genre interest” list: Unwell in the “Best Podcast or Online Audio Drama” is a small-town supernatural horror with a big dose of humor, very good modern take on the genre. Strongly recommend to those interested in that kind of thing.

Comments are closed.