Beauman Wins 2023 Clarke Award

Venomous Lumpsucker by Ned Beauman is the 37th winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction book of the year.

The winner was revealed on August 16 at an award ceremony held at St Martin in the Fields, Trafalgar Square, London, to an audience of authors, publishing professionals, and science fiction fans.

Chair of the Judges, Dr Andrew M. Butler said:

The judges took several hours to choose their winner and debate was intense but always good-willed. Their choice, Ned Beauman’s Venomous Lumpsucker, is a biting satire, twisted, dark and radical, but remarkably accessible, endlessly inventive and hilarious.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

Venomous Lumpsucker takes science fiction’s knack for future extrapolation and aggressively applies it to humanity’s shortsighted self-interest and consumptive urges in the face of planetary eco-crisis. The result is a bleakly funny novel where the only hope for our species is working out the final punchline before it’s delivered.

Ned Beauman receives a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend and prize money to the value of £2023.00; a tradition that sees the annual prize money rise incrementally by year from the year 2001 in memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke.

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2023 were: Dave Hutchinson and Francis Gene-Rowe for the British Science Fiction Association; Kate Heffner and Nicholas Whyte for the Science Fiction Foundation; Georgie Knight for the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival; and Dr. Andrew M. Butler, non-voting Chair of the Judges, Serendip Foundation.

[Based on a press release.]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.