Datlow Shares Cover for Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve

Editor Ellen Datlow has unveiled the cover for The Best Horror of the Year volume Twelve.

With each passing year, science, technology, and the march of time shine light into the craggy corners of the universe, making the fears of an earlier generation seem quaint. But this light creates its own shadows. The Best Horror of the Year chronicles these shifting shadows. It is a catalog of terror, fear, and unpleasantness as articulated by today’s most challenging and exciting writers.

It will be released October 6. Available for preorder here.

Table of Contents:

  • Ice Cold Lemonade 25? Haunted House Tour: 1 Per Person by Paul Tremblay
  • A Song For Wounded Mouths by Kristi DeMeester
  • Birds of Passage by Gordon B. White
  • The Puppet Motel by Gemma Files
  • The Senior Girls Bayonet Drill Team by Joe R. Lansdale
  • The Night Nurse by Sarah Langan
  • They Are Us (1964): An Oral History by Jack Lothian
  • As Dark As Hunger by S. Qiouyi Lu
  • I Say (I Say, I Say) by Robert Shearman
  • The Pain-Eater’s Daughter by Laura Mauro
  • The Hope Chest by Sarah Read
  • Nor Cease You Never Now by Ren Warom
  • Playscape by Diana Peterfreund
  • Adrenaline Junkies by Ray Cluley
  • Watching by Tim Lees
  • Mr. And Mrs. Kett by Sam Hicks
  • Below by Simon Bestwick
  • My Name is Ellie by Sam Rebelein
  • Slipper by Catriona Ward
  • How To Stay Afloat When Drowning by Daniel Braum
  • This Was Always Going to Happen by Stephen Graham Jones
  • The Butcher’s Table by Nathan Ballingrud
  • Honorable Mentions
  • About the Authors
  • Acknowledgment of Copyright
  • About the Editor

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “Datlow Shares Cover for Best Horror of the Year Volume Twelve

  1. This cover shows the overlap between horror and science-fiction? It wouldn’t look out of place on something like Raymond E. Feist’s Magician series! Very nice 🙂

Comments are closed.