Famed Tanith Lee Series Coming Out From DAW

By Carl Slaughter: DAW is reissuing Tanith Lee’s Flat Earth series. The first book in the series, Night’s Master, was nominated for the World Fantasy Award.

The second book in the series, Death’s Master, won the British Fantasy Award, making her the first woman to win in this category.

Lee was nominated 10 times for the World Fantasy Award in the short story, novella, novel, and anthology categories, winning twice in the short story category.

She was also named a World Horror Grand master and received the World Fantasy lifetime achievement award.  She was nominated six times for the British Fantasy Award in the short fiction and novel categories, winning once for Death’s Master. She was nominated twice for the Nebula Award, once for novel and once for short story.  Lee died in 2015.

Flat Earth Series


  • Night’s Master (1978), (Nominated for the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, 1979[1])
  • Death’s Master (1979) (British Fantasy Award for Best Novel, 1980[2])
  • Delusion’s Master (1981)
  • Delirium’s Mistress (1986)


  • Night’s Sorceries (1987) (Nominated for the World Fantasy Award for Best Anthology/Collection, 1988

Additional Short Stories

  • “I Bring You Forever” (1998)
  • “The Man Who Stole The Moon” (2001)
  • “The Origin Of Snow” (2002)
  • “The Snake” (2008)
  • “The Pain of Glass” (2009)

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

7 thoughts on “Famed Tanith Lee Series Coming Out From DAW

  1. Great news. I hope they print some new, non-embarrassing covers. That edition of Night’s Master shown in the post is prob the most respectable it’s gotten so far, and its still got a naked lass on there.

  2. Some of my favorite books of all time.

    As far as covers, I’m still a fan of Dulac on Night’s Master, and Michael Whelan did some great ones for later volumes. I also wish that Taleka/Norilana had been able to complete the series of hardcover reissues they started a few years back (and I really wish they hadn’t misspelled “Delirium” on the cover of Delirium’s Mistress.

  3. Oh, cool. I haven’t read them in a long time. I hunted down the old DAW(?) books for cheap some years back, so I’ve only got them in the slowly decaying paperback medium.

Comments are closed.