HWA Announces Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship

Rocky Wood

Rocky Wood

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has created the Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship in honor of the organization’s late president, who passed away on December 1 as a result of complications from ALS, known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

Wood, a two-time recipient of the Bram Stoker Award®, was best known for his extensive work involving the writings of Stephen King.

The Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship will focus on nonfiction. The new scholarship joins the existing Horror Writers Association and Mary Shelley Scholarships.

Succeeding Wood as HWA’s President will be Lisa Morton. For the last two-and-a-half years, Morton served as Vice President. A screenwriter, author of non-fiction books, and an award-winning prose writer, Morton is a six-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award®. She commented, “It’s daunting for me to now step into the Presidential shoes, but I also consider it an honor to continue the great work Rocky started. Because he was such a master at organization, he’s left behind manuals and instructions and a trained corps of volunteers, and together we look forward to continuing his legacy.”

Nancy Holder, who has been part of HWA for decades, will step in as Vice President.

[Based on HWA’s press release.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.