Mike Resnick Memorial Award for Short Fiction 2022 Finalists

Mike Resnick at Imaginales 2016 in France.

The finalists for the 2022 Mike Resnick Memorial Award for the best unpublished science fiction short story by a new author were announced on July 22.

The award is sponsored by Galaxy’s Edge (published by Arc Manor) and Dragon Con, and will be presented at Dragon Con during the annual Dragon Awards ceremony.

The finalists are:

  • “It Matches the Color of Your Eye” by Matt Broomfield
  • “Parallels” by Akshayarka Alammyan Deka
  • “What Would You Pay for a Second Chance?” by Chris Kulp
  • “Seedpod” by Ellen Parent
  • “On the Left” by Sandra Sigienski

The first-place winner will get a trophy, a cash award of $250 and have their story bought (at the magazine’s prevailing rate) by Galaxy’s Edge for publication in the magazine. The second-place winner will be given a prize of $100 and the third-place winner a prize of $50.

The members of the finalist judging panel were Nancy Kress, Sheree Renée Thomas, Jody Lynn Nye, Lois McMaster Bujold, and William B. Fawcett.

Stories may be submitted between September 1, 2022 and April 1, 2023 for consideration for the 2023 awards. 

[Based on a press release.]

One thought on “Mike Resnick Memorial Award for Short Fiction 2022 Finalists

  1. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 7/31/22 - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.