Nominees for 2011 Joe Shuster Awards

Nominees in 10 categories for the 2011 Joe Shuster Awards have been announced (click on link.) The awards recognize outstanding achievements by Canadian comic book creators, publishers and retailers.

Also announced were two Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame inductees: Chester Brown and Todd McFarlane.

The awards are named for Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster who, along with writer Jerry Siegel, created Superman.

Works published in 2010 by Canadian citizens living at home or abroad, as well as permanent residents were eligible for consideration. Nominees will be reviewed by juries, who will decide the winners.

The Joe Shuster Awards will be presented during the 7th Annual Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards on June 18 at the Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo.

[Thanks to John Mansfield for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.